
 
 

 

 

 
Answer: 

Boat P is disqualified. She fails to keep clear of Boat S under rule 10, On Opposite Tacks. Rules 

18.1(a) and 18.1(b), Mark-Room: When Rule 18 Applies states that rule 18 does not apply when 

boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward, or when the proper course at the mark for one 

but not both of the boats is to tack. Clearly P does not need to tack to sail her proper course (i.e., 

to finish as quickly as possible; see the definition Proper Course). But S and P are both on a 

“beat to windward” because they are sailing to an upwind mark and the reason they are not both 

sailing close-hauled courses is because P has overstood the close-hauled layline to the mark. 

Therefore rule 18 does not apply and P must keep clear of S under rule 10, which she fails to do. 

(See World Sailing Case 132.) 

 

For more quizzes, click here. 
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