CLIPPER 2017-18 RACE FACTS

- The Clipper Race is the world's biggest round-the-world ocean race, and is also regarded as one of the toughest endurance challenges on the planet.
- At 40,000 nautical miles long and taking almost a year to complete, it consists of twelve teams competing against each other on the world's largest matched fleet of 70-foot ocean racing yachts.
- 712 crew, representing 41 different nationalities are signed up to compete in the Clipper 2017-18 Race, making this edition our biggest event to date. Crew can choose to take part in either the entire race or one or more of its eight legs.
- The Clipper 2017-18 Race will set sail on Sunday 20 August from Liverpool's Albert Dock, and will be the event's eleventh edition. It will return to Liverpool on Saturday, 28 July, 2018.
- The Clipper Race was established in 1996 by Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, the first person to sail solo non-stop around the world in 1968-69. His aim was to allow anyone, regardless of previous sailing experience, the chance to embrace the thrill of ocean racing.
- 40 per cent of crew are novices and have never sailed before starting a comprehensive training programme ahead of their adventure. It is the only event of its kind for amateur sailors.
- There is no upper age limit, the oldest competitor to date was 74. Crew must be aged 18 or over before starting the race.
- This unique challenge brings together everyone from chief executives to taxi drivers, nurses and firemen, farmers, Olympians, airline pilots and students.
- The Official Race Charity is UNICEF, who have been gifted a team yacht entry for the 2017-18 edition. During the 2015-16 edition, supporters and Clipper Race Partners raised over £323,000 for the charity. For the 2017-18 edition, there is a £400,000 fundraising target.
- The overall route is split into a series of 13 races and points are awarded for each race. The team with the highest cumulative points at the end of the final race wins the series, and the Clipper Race trophy.
- The race route is as follows:
 - Leg 1 (Race 1) Liverpool, England, to Punte del Este, Uruguay
 - Leg 2 (Race 2) Punte del Este to Cape Town, South Africa
 - Leg 3 (Race 3) Cape Town to Fremantle, Western Australia
 - Leg 4 (Race 4) Fremantle to Sydney. New South Wales
 - (Race 5) Sydney to Hobart (Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race)
 - (Race 6) Hobart to the Whitsunday's, Queensland
 - Leg 5 (Race 7) Whitsundays to Sanya, China
 - (Race 8) Sanya to Qingdao, China
 - Leg 6 (Race 9) Qingdao, China to Seattle, USA
 - Leg 7 (Race 10) Seattle, USA to Panama
 - (Race 11) Panama to New York City
 - Leg 8 (Race 12) New York City to Derry Londonderry, Northern Ireland
 - (Race 13) Derry Londonderry to Liverpool, England