

sport / nature / technology

4 May 2020

Josep M Pla President EUROSAF

Dear President, dear Josep,

Thank you for your recent letter and for your commitment in contributing to the development of sailing and your loyalty to World Sailing in achieving its projects and goals.

First, allow me to clarify any misunderstanding. The meeting between World Sailing and myself as president together with our member association in Hungary, was to discuss a number of sailing matters as indicated in our numerous exchanges.

While I appreciate your support and your diligence in reaching out to Mr. Wossala, it is surprising to hear that he did not provide you with any information from the discussion as he included himself in the meeting. Since Mr. Wossala was in attendance, the matter of an unfounded case which he intentionally brought forward for the purpose of attacking World Sailing was brought up. It was also unveiled that the Hungarian MNA was not aware of his actions. Sufficient to say that while the case was whole-heartedly dismissed when reviewed by an independent investigation - as there was no evidence of any wrongdoing on the part of World Sailing or the individuals he accused - the unwarranted claims made by Mr. Wossola did trigger the use of unecessary personel and financial resources.

As I am sure you will agree it is very unsettling to know that we have trusted members of our council acting on their own accord to intentionally harm our sport. Should you and the EUROSAF Executive Board like to open an internal investigation on this matter I would kindly request that you do so on your own accord.

I could be available for a joint call with the Eurosaf board, if you need further clarification.

In the meantime, please keep safe and healthy. And thank you again for continuous support of World Sailing and our projects.

Regards,

Kim Andersen President World Sailing Presidents of Honour: HM King Constantine

HM King Harald of Norway

Directors:

Kim Andersen Jan Dawson Torben Grael Gary Jobson Quanhai Li W Scott Perry Yann Rocherieux Ana Sanchez

Nadine Stedenwalner