Cubans win Snipe Winter Circuit

Published on March 30th, 2017

Arthur Blodgett and Julia Melton won the 79th SCIRA Midwinter Championship, held March 28-30 in Clearwater, FL.

Going into the final day with a 1 point defecit, Blodgett and Melton posted two bullets to take the title over Raul Miguel Diaz Herrera and Carlos Esposito Rodriguez from Cuba with Canada’s Chris Hains sailing and former World Champion Alexandre Tinoco taking third in the 8-race series.


Raul Miguel Diaz Herrera and Carlos Esposito Rodriguez are the winners of the 2017 Zimmerman Trophy for the best overall results in the Snipe Winter Circuit consisting of Nassau’s Bacardi and Gamblin regattas, the Don Q Rum Keg and the Midwinters. This is the first time in the 51 year history of the Zimmerman Trophy that a team from Cuba has won.

Snipe Winter Circuit
Events 1 & 2 | Bacardi/Gamblin Series | March 8-12 | Nassau, Bahamas
Event 3 | 51st Don Q Rum Keg | March 23-26 | Coconut Grove, Florida
Event 4| 80th Midwinters | March 28-30 | Clearwater, Florida

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.