Exclusion of a boat in an event
Published on May 23rd, 2021
The Racing Rules of Sailing Questions and Answers are published on the World Sailing website as a joint responsibility of the Racing Rules Committee and the Race Officials Committee. This Q&A from the 2021-2024 rules concerns the exclusion of a boat:
Boat A sailed in the first race of an event. Boat A did not comply with the entry requirements of the organizing authority of the event.
May the race committee cancel the entry of boat A from the event without a hearing?
Not applicable. Boat A did not comply with the requirements of the organizing authority, therefore she did not enter the event. See Rule 75.
If the answer to the previous question is yes, may boat A be removed by the race committee from the event even after one race has been completed?
If the answer to Question 1 is yes, would it be an improper action or omission of the organizing authority or the race committee not to remove boat A from the results?
Disclaimer: Q&As reflect the opinion of experienced race officials; they are not authoritative interpretations of the rules. Q&As only address the specific question and not all of the factors a protest committee will need to consider in a hearing.