Exclusion of a boat in an event

Published on May 23rd, 2021

The Racing Rules of Sailing Questions and Answers are published on the World Sailing website as a joint responsibility of the Racing Rules Committee and the Race Officials Committee. This Q&A from the 2021-2024 rules concerns the exclusion of a boat:


Situation
Boat A sailed in the first race of an event. Boat A did not comply with the entry requirements of the organizing authority of the event.

Question 1
May the race committee cancel the entry of boat A from the event without a hearing?

Answer 1
Not applicable. Boat A did not comply with the requirements of the organizing authority, therefore she did not enter the event. See Rule 75.

Question 2
If the answer to the previous question is yes, may boat A be removed by the race committee from the event even after one race has been completed?

Answer 2
Not applicable.

Question 3
If the answer to Question 1 is yes, would it be an improper action or omission of the organizing authority or the race committee not to remove boat A from the results?

Answer 3
Not applicable.

Disclaimer: Q&As reflect the opinion of experienced race officials; they are not authoritative interpretations of the rules. Q&As only address the specific question and not all of the factors a protest committee will need to consider in a hearing.

Tags: ,



Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.