Best in the World

Published on October 3rd, 2012

The International Sailing Federation (ISAF) and Rolex have announced the nominees for the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2012. The nominees are put forward based on achievements made during the qualifying period of 1 September 2011 and 31 August 2012. Only one nominee wins from both the male and female category. The nominees are:


  • Ben Ainslie (GBR) – Finn, Olympic Gold Medal
  • Mathew Belcher/ Malcolm Page (AUS) – Men’s 470, Olympic Gold Medal
  • Nathan Outteridge/ Iain Jensen (AUS) – 49er, Olympic Gold Medal
  • Loick Peyron (FRA), Outright Around the World Record
  • Tom Slingsby (AUS) – Laser, Olympic Gold Medal


  • Tamara Echegoyen/Angela Pumariega/Sofio Toro(ESP) – WMR, Olympic Gold Medal
  • Helena Lucas (GBR) – 2.4mR, Paralympic Gold Medal
  • Saskia Sills (GBR) – RS:X, ISAF Youth Sailing World Champion
  • Lijia Xu (CHN) – Laser Radial, Olympic Gold Medal

The qualifying accomplishments for each nominee can be read here:

comment banner

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.