Who Was The Best in 2012?

Published on October 3rd, 2012

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2012 U.S. Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards, widely acknowledged as the foremost individual sailing honors in the nation. Through November 30, 2012, every member of US SAILING may nominate the one male and one female sailor they think has turned in the most outstanding on-the-water performance during the 2012 calendar year.

At the conclusion of the nomination period (October 1-November 30, 2012), a shortlist of nominees will be presented to a panel of accomplished sailing journalists who discuss the merits of each and vote by secret ballot to determine the individual award winners. The winners will be honored in February, 2013, during a luncheon at St. Francis Yacht Club in San Francisco, when they will be presented with specially-engraved Rolex timepieces.

The winners in 2011 were Anna Tunnicliffe and Bill Hardesty, and it was expected for the 2012 winners to come from successful performances at the Olympics. But with the U.S. team failing to medal, it opens up the nominees to a wide range of accomplishments. Who do you think should be nominated?

comment banner

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.