RECOGNITION: What is the Jesse L. Carr Trophy?

Published on April 8th, 2013

Since 1958, PCYA has awarded the Carr Trophy to the winner of a regatta that featured skippers over 50 and crew members over 40 years of age. In 2012 the decision was made to partner with a carefully chosen sailing regatta and recognize the achievement of a sailing crew participating in a one-design portion of a larger regatta.

Among the many trophies offered in yachting competition, only a few recognize the indispensable values and virtues of the championship crew, while at the same time recognizing the organizational ability and talent of the captain. It is the purpose of this Trophy to recognize the essential team relationship between captain and crew.

The 2012 Jesse L. Carr Trophy was awarded at the Express 27 Nationals sailed at Richmond Yacht Club. The winning crew on Shenanigans consisted of John Collins, Eric Baumhoff, Tony Fisher, Keith Stahnke and skipper Nick Gibbens.

In 2013, Pacific Coast Yachting Association’s Carr Trophy is to be awarded to Super 30 winner at 2013 Whidbey Island Race Week in the Puget Sound on July 14-19. The Super 30 class is made up of high performance 30 foot boats that all rate the same under the PHRF-NW system. The class includes boats such as the FT-10, Farr 30 and Henderson 30.

Established in 1923, the Pacific Coast Yachting Association is composed of yachting and cruising associations from Vancouver, B.C., Canada, to San Diego, California. Its purpose is to promote yachting in all its forms on the Pacific Coast of North America as well as in Hawaii.

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.