Home team wins 2014 Oyster Bay Challenge

Published on May 7th, 2014

Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club hosted the 11th Annual Oyster Bay Challenge team race on Saturday, May 3rd. It is one of the staple events on the masters team race circuit. The event is sailed in Seawanhaka’s Club owned Sonars, three boats to a team (3v3), using spinnakers. The racing was conducted in Cold Spring Harbor with the teams changing boats after each round robin.

After completing three round robins, the home team of SCYC was victorious. The last time that Seawanhaka won the Oyster Bay Challenge was in 2008.

The Seawanhaka Team consisted of Matt Kelley (skipper), Dean Brenner, Hugh Jones, Janet Campos, Eric Johnson (skipper), Bam Miller, Karen Martin, Al Constants (skipper), Priscilla Constants,Gary Van Dis, and Dave Constants.

The hard-working Seawanhaka volunteers who orchestrated this event with remarkable precision were Event Chair Bam Miller, PRO Ian Gumprecht and his Race Committee Team and Chief Umpire John Mooney and his fleet of umpires. Sailing Master Istvan Kopar expertly coordinated the mechanics of the Regatta while the rest of the Seawanhaka Staff ensured that all shore-side activities were a success.


comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.