College Nationals: The Final Exam

Published on May 12th, 2014

The fall and spring seasons of college racing focuses on six National Championships. In the Fall season were the Match Race Nationals and Men’s and Women’s Singlehanded Nationals. The Spring season nationals close out the school year, with qualifications now complete among the seven districts the comprise the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association. Here is the schedule:

May 27-30: The ICSA/Sperry Women’s Nationals features four days of competition at the US Naval Academy. On May 27-28, the initial round in which 28 schools compete in two 14 team events to see which 18 will go on to the finals. The final round of 18 teams will take place on May 29-30. Click here for details.

May 31-June 2: The College Sailing/APS Team Race Championship, hosted by by St. Mary’s College of MD, brings together 16 of the country’s best team racing teams for a three-day championship of 3-on-3 racing. After a single round robin, the top eight teams will meet in championship round robin followed by a “Final Four” round in which the podium places will be determined and a National Champion named. Click here for details.

June 3-6: The College Sailing/Gill Coed Championship brings together the top 36 teams from the seven Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association conferences. Hosted by St. Mary’s College of MD, each team had to qualify within their own conference to compete in round one, with the number of teams from each conference based on conference size. The teams have been divided into two groups of 18, with the top 9 in each group advancing to the championship finals.

Competing in the Coed Championship is the highlight of the college season. Here are the 36 teams that have the privilege:

Mid Atlantic (8): St. Mary’s College of Maryland, Old Dominion University, Fordham University, Washington College, Georgetown University, US Naval Academy, University of Pennsylvania, University of Virginia

New England (9): Yale University, Boston College, Brown University, Bowdoin College, Harvard University, Dartmouth College, US Coast Guard Academy, Tufts University, Connecticut College

Midwest (5): University of Minnesota, University of Notre Dame, University of Michigan, University of Wisconsin, University of Wisconsin Milwaukee

Northwest (2): University of Washington, Oregon State University

Pacific Coast (4): University of Hawaii, Cal State Long Beach, Stanford University, University of California Santa Barbara

Southeast (2): Tulane University, Texas A&M University at Galveston

South Atlantic (6): University of South Florida, Eckerd College, Clemson University, College of Charleston, Jacksonville University, New College of Florida

Click here for details.

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.