Dave Perry Rules Quiz

Published on November 24th, 2014

Boat X is beating towards the finishing line in very light winds and adverse current. Just after her bow crosses the finishing line, and to avoid touching the finishing mark, she bears away and sails off the course. Boat Y protests her for failing to completely cross the finishing line. You are on the protest committee; how would you decide this?


Boat Y’s protest is disallowed. Boat X is scored in her finishing position. Boat X “finished” when her bow crossed the finishing line (see the definition Finish). Rule 28.1, Sailing the Course, states, “After finishing she need not cross the finishing line completely.”

Dave enjoys discussing rules and tactics at all levels, and is a very entertaining speaker. If you would like to learn more about having Dave at your club or association this winter or spring, email him at davperry@optonline.net.

For more on the rules, get Dave Perry’s two books Understanding the Racing Rules of Sailing through 2016 (which includes the complete rule book) and Dave Perry’s 100 Best Racing Rules Quizzes, available at US Sailing, 800 US SAIL-1, or www.ussailing.org.

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.