Brazil takes Snipe World Title

Published on September 26th, 2015

Eighty-three teams competed at the Snipe World Championship, held over six days on September 21-26 in Talamone, Italy. Climbing up from ninth position after day two, Mateus Tavares and Gustavo Carvalho (BRA) closed strong to take the title. Tavares/Carvalho posted a 5-2 in the final two days to unseat previous leader Luis Soubie and Diego Lipszyc (ARG), who dropped to second with a 22-23 at the end.

“Our goal in Talamone was to finish in the top ten and we never expected to win the World Championship,” noted Tavares, who sailed with 17-year old Gustavo Carvalho. “The week was quite challenging, but at one point, the provisional scoreboard showed an opening and we realized we had a chance. Today in the final race, keeping our opponents in check or attacking was very difficult. We decided to give it all that we had and when we saw that Louis Soubie was buried in the second half of the fleet, we focused on stretching our lead, hoping that he would not be able to close the gap. It all worked out and neither Gustavo nor I can believe we are 2015 Snipe World Champions!”

Immediately after crossing the finish line in 23rd position, Argentinians Louis Soubie- Diego Lipszyc heartily congratulated Tavares-Carvalho on their victory while the Brazilians were celebrating with fellow compatriots by diving in the crystal clear waters of the Tyrrhenian Sea. A mark of true sportsmanship. “The fact Louis came over to shake our hand meant a lot to us,” stated Tavares.

2015 Snipe Worlds - Talamone. Italy © Matias Capizzano

Louis Soubie- Diego Lipszyc congratulating the winners during their celebratory swim.

The final race, Race 8, was sailed with a westerly breeze between 7 and 9 knots that later in the day shifted to the left. Soubie-Lipszyc had to defend the 12-point lead but after sailing on the left side of the course, the Argentinian duo rounded mark 1 in 14th position while Tavares-Carvalho were fourth at the end of the beat. Down the first run, the Brazilians move into the lead while the Argentinians lost positions, rounding the left mark at the leeward gate more or less 20th.

The rest of the race was all about Tavares-Carvalho controlling the fleet on the one hand and about Soubie-Lipszyc desperately attempting to recover positions to cut the finish line in 13th place or better, which would have ensured their victory of World Title after a week spent at the head of the provisional leaderboard. Game over for Argentina with Brazilian Tavares-Carvalho who cross the finish line in 2nd place and start counting the number of boats between them and Soubie-Lipszyc. Two, three, ten, fourteen… Soubie-Lipszyc (ARG) cut the finish line 23rd and Tavares-Carvalho (BRA) are 2015 Snipe World Champions.

Eighteen nations on the starting line: Argentina (7 teams), Belgium (6), Brazil (9), Columbia (1), Croatia (1), Denmark (1) Ecuador (2), Finland (1), France (2), Great Britain (1), Japan (7), Norway (2), Poland (3), Spain (12), Sweden (2), United States (9) and Uruguay (1). Italy is represented by 16 crews in the Snipe World Championship.

Prizes shall be awarded to the skipper and crew for the top 10 places. The Commodore Hub E. Isaacks perpetual trophy shall be awarded to the fleet of the winning skipper. The O’Leary Trophy shall be awarded to the crew winning the World Championship. The Earl Elms Perpetual Trophy shall be awarded to the winning skipper of the final race of the World Championship. Prizes will be presented to the best scorer of each day of races. A special prize drawing will take place during the Awards Ceremony. Only crews who are present at the Awards Ceremony will be entered into the prize drawing.

Final Results (Top 10 of 83; 8 races, 1 discard)

Event websiteFinal standingsPhotos


Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.