Augie Diaz and Magnus Liljedahl dominate Star Winter Series

Published on January 3rd, 2016

The second event of the fourth annual Star Winter Series was held January 2-3, with 20 teams competing in four races in Miami, FL. Posting all top two scores, Augie Diaz and Magnus Liljedahl won handily, distancing themselves by nine points over William Swigart and Brian Fatih in second, who were tied with Eric Doyle and Steve Calder but winning on count back.

Canadian John Hokanson and Arnd Glunde managed to leave with some silverware, winning the Grand Masters division.

Details: Levin MemorialStar Winter Series


First: Augie Diaz and Magnus Liljedahl


Second: William Swigart and Brian Fatih


Third: Eric Doyle and Steve Calder


Grand Masters: John Hokanson and Arnd Glunde

Report by Stuart Hebb. Photos by Marco Oquendo.

Now in its fourth year, the Star Winter Series is a single one-design series, made up of four winter weekend regattas and a 4-day Midwinter Championship, all sailed out of a great club with an economical and convenient storage solution.

Only the best three Winter Series weekend regattas will count toward the SWS Championship Presented By EFG International. The Star Winter Series Champion will be the skipper with the lowest total score to be calculated as follows: The sum of the overall place in the Star Midwinters multiplied by 2, plus the lowest three scores from the four SWS weekend regattas. Series Championship ties to be decided by a team’s position in Midwinters.

2015-16 Star Winter Series

SWS Event 1 | Commodore’s Cup/District 20 Champs | December 05-06, 2015
SWS Event 2 | Levin Memorial Regatta | January 02-03, 2016
SWS Event 3 | Star Midwinters | January 07-10, 2016
SWS Event 4 | Schoonmaker Cup | February 20-21, 2016
SWS Event 5 | Walker Cup | March 05-06, 2016

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.