Reviving Historic Royal Lymington Cup

Published on February 3rd, 2016

The Royal Lymington Cup match race event was started in the mid-Seventies by a group led by Californian sailor and Lymington yacht builder Bill Green in open admiration for and imitation of the Long Beach YC’s Congressional Cup, then well-established as a training patch for would-be America’s Cup helmsmen and tacticians.

The Cup trophy has been revived by the Royal Lymington Yacht Club (RLymYC) and will be presented to the winner of its new two-boat IRC inter-club team racing championship to be held in Christchurch Bay, UK on July 16-17, 2016. Clubs may be represented by two yachts within the IRC rating band of 0.95 to 1.10 TCF provided the nominated skippers are full members of the same club.

The original competition attracted the best match racers of the day, among the winners of the Royal Lymington Cup were Thierry Peponnet, Marc Bouet, Sir Russell Coutts, Peter Isler Rod Davies, Chris Law, Chris Dickson, Peter Gilmour, Iain Murray and – the skipper whose name appears most often on the trophy – Harold Cudmore. But this time it will be the name of the winning Club that will be engraved on the trophy.

The first Club to enter is the Royal Thames Yacht Club, Knightsbridge, London, UK. An entry from the Royal Yacht Squadron, Cowes, Isle of Wight, UK is anticipated soon, and clubs on the South and East Coast plus Ireland, Channel Islands and Northern France have all indicated a keen interest to enter teams. An Australian Club has also been looking to charter yachts suitable to enter Royal Lymington Cup.

For more information and to register interest visit the Club’s website at

For event information contact: Kirsty Timmis, Event Manager, Royal Lymington Yacht Club Tel: 01590671687 or

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.