Steve Natvig Wins 2016 California Dreamin’ Series

Published on March 13th, 2016

The third and final stop on the World Sailing Grade 3 2016 California Dreamin’ Series was held in J/22s on March 12-13 in San Francisco, CA. Hosted by St Francis Yacht Club, eight teams competed in the double round robin match race event. Shane Young was nearly perfect, with his team of Steve Flam, Ian Paice, and Nick Santos going 13-1 to win the third event. After winning the first two events, Steve Natvig finished second in San Francisco to take the overall series title.

Event detailsSan Francisco results

2016 California Dreamin’ Series Results
1. Steven Natvig, Cabrillo Beach Yacht Club
2. Shane Young, Long Beach Yacht Club
3. Nicole Breault, St. Francis Yacht Club
4. Alex Jacobs, San Diego Yacht Club
5. Wendy Corzine, LBYC
6. Andrew Meade, Waikiki Yacht Club
7. Will Durant, LBYC
8. Nolan Van Dine, St.FYC
9. Dave Hood, LBYC

One of the premier match racing series in the U.S., the California Dreamin’ Series consists of three match racing events.

2016 Schedule
January 9-10 – San Diego Yacht Club (San Diego, CA) – J/22s
February 27-28 – Long Beach Yacht Club (Long Beach, CA) – Catalina 37s
March 12-13 – St. Francis Yacht Club (San Francisco, CA) – J/22s

Each host club nominates two teams from their respective clubs, and then the three events agree on the remaining two teams to fill out the field of eight competitors.

The winner of the series receives an invitation to the Ficker Cup at Long Beach Yacht Club, which itself is a qualifier for Congressional Cup the following week, also at Long Beach Yacht Club.

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.