Funding for Sailing World Cup Final

Published on May 4th, 2016

Southampton, UK (May 4, 2016) – World Sailing will be providing $200,000 AUD in prize money, together with travel grants for the world’s best sailors at the 2016 Sailing World Cup Final, which will be held in Melbourne, Australia on December 4-11.

The Sailing World Cup Final will be held in the aftermath of the Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games. Sailors will race out of St Kilda’s Sailing Precinct on Port Phillip in the ten Olympic fleets, Open Kiteboarding and the 2.4 Norlin One Design, a Paralympic event, in a bid to be crowned 2016 Sailing World Cup Champion.

Held in Australia’s sporting capital, Melbourne, each Olympic and 2.4 Norlin OD Paralympic medallist at the Rio 2016 Games will receive a travel grant to attend as well as logistical support provided by World Sailing. The $200,000 AUD prize fund will be shared across the events, adding an extra spice to what already is set to be a highly charged competition.

Andy Hunt, Chief Executive Officer at World Sailing commented, “The Sailing World Cup Final will be a celebration of success following Rio 2016. The Melbourne public love their sport and they will be able to see their heroes up close and personal in St Kilda’s Sailing Precinct.”

The 2016 Sailing World Cup Final will be the climax of a yearlong 5-event series, with the results from the series used to qualify the top 20 competitors in each event for the Finals.

Source: Daniel Smith, World Sailing.

Sailing World Cup
The Sailing World Cup is a World-class, annual series of Olympic sailing for elite and professional sailors. It is open to the sailing classes chosen for the 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Sailing Competitions in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The series moves around the world to be as inclusive as possible to the top 40 boats in each class. Over 2,000 of the World’s leading sailors, representing over 75 nations compete in the Sailing World Cup which offers a definitive guide to the best-of-the-best in the Olympic sailing world. The SWC series is used to qualify the top 20 boat for each event in the SWC Final.

2016 Sailing World Cup
SWC Melbourne – December 7-13 2015
SWC Miami – January 23-30 2016
SWC Hyères – April 25-May 1 2016
SWC Weymouth and Portland – June 6-12 2016
SWC Qingdao – September 19-25 2016
SWC Final, Melbourne – December 4-11 2016

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.