Visit Pensacola

Australia Dominates Laser Masters World Championship

Published on May 28th, 2016

Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico (May 28, 2016) – The wind gods smiled once again for the last day of the Laser Standard Masters World Championship, capping off the regatta with epic sailing conditions for the final two races of the event.

The sailors enjoyed winds of 12-16 knots off the coast of Riviera Nayarit to wrap up this year’s event in spectacular style. Most sailors favored the right side of the course again today, but the left side seemed to pay just enough to keep the sailors on their toes.

Defending champion, Mark Bethwaite (AUS) closed out a near flawless performance to once again claim victory in the Great Grand Masters Division. Mathematically, Bethwaite did not even need to rig his boat today in order to win his division, but as a true sportsman, he took to the water and enjoyed one of the best racing days yet. American Doug Peckover and New Zealander James Temple rounded out the top-three overall.

In perhaps the most tightly contested fleet, Australian Gavin Dagley sealed his win with a first and fourth place today to top the Grand Masters Division in front of Cristian Herman of Chile and Canadian Allan Clark.

In the Masters Division, defending champion Brett Beyer dominated the fleet today by going hard right on the upwind legs to take two horizon-job wins. Beyer’s speed advantage was clear as he keeps a second place finish as his worst score for the event. Also showing similar consistency, American Ernesto Rodriguez cruised to a comfortable second place overall finish followed by Andrew Dellabarca from New Zealand in third.

The 2017 Laser Masters World Championship will be held in Split, Croatia.

Top-Three Standings by Division (85 total competitors; 12 races, 2 discards)

Apprentice Masters Division:
1) Pablo Rabago MEX 10pts
2) Guilherme Roth BRA 18pts
3) Alejandro Rabago MEX 29pts

Masters Division:
1) Brett Beyer AUS 11pts
2) Ernesto Rodriguez USA 26pts
3) Andrew Dellabarca NZL 43pts

Grand Masters Division:

1) Gavin Dagley AUS 25pts
2) Cristian Herman CHI 33pts
3) Allan Clark CAN 42pts

Great Grand Masters Division:
1) Mark Bethwaite AUS 10pts
2) Doug Peckover USA 22pts
3) James Temple AUS 29pts

The 12-race series is scheduled for May 22-28 on the waters of Banderas Bay.

First held in 1980, the Laser Masters World Championship is organized annually for sailors age 35 and over. Sailors compete in various divisions based on their ages: Apprentice Masters – age 35 to 44, Masters – age 45 to 54, Grand Masters – age 55 to 64, and Great Grand Masters – age 65 and over. Unlike previous years, this year’s event was sailed on two separate weeks, one for Laser Radial sailors and one for Laser Standard sailors.

Event WebsiteScoreboardFacebookPhotosVideo

Source: Laser class

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.