Nevin Snow Wins 2016 Governor’s Cup

Published on July 23rd, 2016

Newport Beach, CA (July 23, 2016) – 2011 Governor’s Cup winner Nevin Snow (USA) and his crew Scott Sinks, Rebecca McElavain and Chuck Eaton completed their near perfect run to win the 50th Annual Governor’s Cup International Junior Match Racing Championship.

By winning the double round robin series with a 20-2 record, the San Diego Yacht Club team chose Balboa Yacht Club’s Christophe Killian to race against in the Semi-Finals with Snow winning 2-0. It was the battle of Australia in the other Semi-Final match, with 2-time Gov Cup victor Sam Gilmour topping defending champ Harry Price 2-1.

Snow made quick work of Gilmour in the Finals to win 2-0. In the Petit Finals, Killian lost the first match against Price but won the next two to finish third overall.

Hosted by Balboa Yacht Club, 12 teams competed July 19-23 in the newly launched Gov Cup 22 sail boats designed by Club member S/C Alan Andrews.

Event websiteScoreboardCrew listsFacebookTwitterPhotos


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.