Yachting New Zealand Celebrating Achievement and Service

Published on November 9th, 2016

Yachting New Zealand honours significant achievements and services made to the sport in 2016 through the Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards.

A highly successful Olympic cycle is reflected in the list of this years’ performance winners, with the entire kiwi sailing team named as recipients. There is also a big emphasis on service award recipients, paying tribute to the individuals and groups to have worked tirelessly across the regions to support all facets of sailing as well as the talented youngsters to have achieved success over the year.

Award winners will be celebrated on November 25, at which time the 2016 HRG Sailor the Year will be named to receive the prestigious Sir Bernard Fergusson trophy. The top honour, dating back to 1963 and presented annually, is New Zealand’s highest recognition within the sport of sailing and will see the winner join a long list of highly accomplished kiwi sailors.

Also under wraps until November 25 are winners in the Volvo Young Sailor of the Year and Aon Emerging Talent Award, Nespresso Coach of the Year, Zhik Official of the Year, as well as the Yachting New Zealand President’s Award, supported by Fuji Xerox.

Winners announced are:

Yachting New Zealand Service Awards for 2016
Recognising contribution and service at club, regional and/or national level.

• Ann Hatch – for services to New Plymouth Yacht Club
• Bob Davies – for services to Wanganui Yacht Club
• Graham Thow & Des Rouse – for services to Northcote Birkenhead Yacht Club
• Jim and Margaret Park – for services to Christchurch Yacht Club
• Keith Hay – for services to Mt Pleasant Yacht Club
• Leslie Rogerson – for services to Wakatipu Yacht Club and Southland Yachting Association
• Mark Mulcare – for services to yacht race handicapping
• Mike Underwood – for services to Waikawa Boating Club
• Sally Garrett – for services to Royal Akarana Yacht Club
• Spring Chickens Volunteer Group – for services to Lowry Bay Yacht Club
• Viki Moore – for services to Naval Point Club Lyttleton

Yachting New Zealand Cruising Awards for 2016

• Simon Willis

Yachting New Zealand Performance Awards for 2016

• Alex Maloney and Molly Meech – 49erFX, Silver Rio Olympics 2016
• David McDiarmid, Matthew Steven, Bradley Collins – 18ft skiff, 2nd JJ Giltinan Champs
• Gemma Jones and Jason Saunders – Nacra 17, 4th Rio Olympics 2016
• Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie- Women’s 470, Silver Rio Olympics 2016
• Josh Junior – Finn, 7th Olympics 2016
• Paul Snow-Hansen and Daniel Willcox – Men’s 470, 10th Rio Olympics 2016
• Peter Burling and Blair Tuke – 49er, Gold Rio Olympics 2016
• Phillip Robertson, William Tiller and Stewart Dodson – 1st World Match Racing Tour 2016
• Rick Dodson, Chris Sharp and Andrew May – Sonar class, 4th Rio Paralympics 2016
• Sam Meech – Laser, Bronze Rio Olympics 2016
• Sarah Dunckley – Hansa Liberty class, 1st World Championships 2016

Yachting New Zealand Youth Performance Awards for 2016

• Eli Leifting and Rose Dickson (Royal Akarana Yacht Club) – RS Feva, 4th RS Feva Worlds 2016
• George Gautrey (Muritai Yacht Club) – Laser Radial, 2nd ISAF Youth Sailing World Championships 2015
• Kate and Greta Stewart (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) – 29er girls, 3rd ISAF Youth Sailing World Championships 2016
• Jackson Keon and Nick Egnot-Johnson (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) – 29er class, 2nd ISAF Youth Sailing World Championships 2015
• Josh Berry and Henry Haslett (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) – 420 class, 1st NZ Nationals, 2nd Australian Nationals, 16th Open Worlds 2016
• Kerensa Jennings and Chelsea Rees (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) – 420 girls 9th ISAF Youth Sailing World Championships 2015
• Robbie McCutcheon (Wakatere Boating Club) – P Class 2016 Tauranga and Tanner Cup winner
• Tamryn Lindsay and William McKenzie (Murrays Bay Sailing Club) – SL16 class, 3rd ISAF Youth Sailing World Championships 2015

Source: Yachting New Zealand

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.