Point Loma High School wins Mallory Championship

Published on May 14th, 2017

Point Loma High School (San Diego, CA) topped the 20-boat fleet to win the Mallory Championship, emblematic of the coed fleet racing national championship for high school sailors. Held May 13-14 at MIT in Cambridge, MA, the Pointers were followed by Severn School (Severna Park, MD) in second and Milton Academy (Milton, MA) in third.

Winning A Division by 7 points was Sophia Reineke ’17 sailing with Libby Redmond ’20 and Brian Buckley ’17 and representing St. Thomas Aquinas High School (Fort Lauderdale, FL). Winning B Division by 27 points was Jack Egan ’20 sailing with Kenny Moats ’17, and Sean Caulfield ’19 and representing Pt. Loma.

Now seven time champions, the Point Loma team was comprised of skippers Jack Reiter ’18 and Egan ’20 with crews Remy Reynolds ’17, JD Schrady ’18, Diego Escobar ’20, Moats ’17, and Caulfield ’19.

“Feeling grateful to coach such a talented and dedicated high school sailing team,” shared coach Steve Hunt.”It was a pleasure watching the kids sail with such skill and poise, especially in the final few races when it mattered most.”

The competition completed 20 A and B Division races using MIT’s Collegiate ‘Turbo’ Flying Juniors and ‘Turbo’ Fireflies with racing held on the Charles River Lower Basin out of the MIT Sailing Pavilion.

Point Loma High School team.

Daily Summary:

Saturday, May 13:
Twenty-six races, thirteen in each division, were held on the Charles River at MIT Sailing in dry, but overcast conditions. The initial breeze at report time was a light southeasterly, prompting a brief delay. As the breeze shifted east and built, racing commenced. The breeze held direction, building to a nice 10-15 knots, making for some excellent and closely competed racing. Three requests for redress were filed, and two were granted. While a few protests were reported to the finish boat, none were filed.

Sunday, May 14:
Fourteen races, seven in each division, were held on the Charles River at MIT Sailing. The weather was quite different form Saturday, with a light rain and a 5-10 knot breeze that started from the northeast, shifting to the north. One request for redress were filed and not granted. One protest was reported to the finish boat, filed, and disallowed.

Event detailsResultsFacebook

Below was the live-Streaming coverage with Ken Legler’s play-by-play audio.


The 20 schools competing at the National Championship had qualified through their respective Districts:
Northwest (1): Charles Wright High School (Tacoma, WA)
Pacific Coast (4): Point Loma HS (San Diego, CA); Newport Harbor HS (Newport Beach, CA); Francis Parker HS (San Diego, CA); Coronado HS (Coronado, CA)
New England (4): Tabor Academy (Marion, MA); St. George’s School (Middletown, RI); Milton Academy (Milton, MA); The Hotchkiss School (Lakeville, CT)
Mid Atlantic (4): Christchurch School (Christchurch, VA); Severn School (Annapolis, MD); Christian Brothers Academy (Lincroft, NJ); Ranney School (Tinton Falls, NJ)
South Atlantic (3): Ransom Everglades (Miami, Fl); Antilles School (St Thomas, VI); St. Thomas Aquinas HS (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Midwest (3): Walter Payton College Prep HS (Chicago, IL); Minnetonka HS (Minnetonka, MN); Kettle Moraine HS (Wales, WI)
Southeast (1): Clear Falls High School (League City, TX)

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.