Nominations open for Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year

Published on October 3rd, 2017

US Sailing is now accepting nominations for the 2017 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards, widely acknowledged as the foremost individual sailing honors in the nation. Through November 30, 2017, each member of US Sailing may nominate the one male and one female sailor they believe turned in the most outstanding on-the-water performance during the 2017 calendar year.

Submit your nomination(s) today at

Established in 1961 by US Sailing and sponsored by Rolex Watch, U.S.A. since 1980, the annual presentation of US Sailing’s Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards recognize the individual male and female U.S. sailors who have demonstrated on-the-water excellence at international and/or national events to earn their place in the history of the sport.

For the 2016 competitive season, first-time winners Caleb Paine (San Diego, Calif.), Olympic Bronze Medalist, and Daniela Moroz (Lafayette, Calif.), IKA Formula Kite World Champion, were awarded the prestigious distinction.

Previous recipients who have earned the honor multiple times include, Ed Adams, Betsy Alison, Sally Barkow, Dave Curtis, Dennis Conner, JJ Fetter, Allison Jolly, John Kostecki, Buddy Melges, Lowell North, Jan O’Malley, Jane Pegel, Ken Read, Cory Sertl, Lynne Shore, Jody Starck, Anna Tunnicliffe and Ted Turner.

At the conclusion of the nomination period, a shortlist of nominees will be presented to a panel of accomplished sailing journalists who discuss the merits of each and vote by secret ballot to determine the individual award winners. The winners will be honored in late February (date to be determined) during a luncheon at New York Yacht Club in Manhattan, where they will be presented with specially engraved Rolex timepieces.

Do you know of an American sailor who performed extraordinarily well at the highest levels of competition in 2017? Your nomination(s) may ensure a sailor will receive the recognition they deserve by making the shortlist or even winning one of these prestigious sailing awards. Submit your nomination(s) today at

Editor’s note: We encourage US Sailing members to submit nominations using the link above, but if you are not a member, Scuttlebutt can accept your nomination suggestion for consideration. Send to

Source: Jake Fish, US Sailing

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.