Spain wins inaugural Nations Trophy

Published on October 14th, 2017

The inaugural Nations Trophy was launched by its founder, Nautor’s Swan, with the fundamental commitment to revitalize the concept of competition between nations. Contested by three classes of Swan One Design yachts, the best two results of each of the eleven competing countries counted towards the national prize.

Racing was held on October 11 to 14, with the Swan 45s also competing for their World Championship and the ClubSwan 50s and 42s for their European Championships, all in the waters off of Palma de Mallorca.

The Spanish team secured the victory for the first edition, winning both the Swan 45 and ClubSwan 42 classes in commanding fashion, Spain gave little oxygen to the efforts of the other competing nations. Italy, the early leaders in the competition, would finish second and Germany’s late run would collect third place.

The individual championships were close-fought affairs. The cream would rise to the top as it always does and solid last-day scores by the class winners ensured their eventual ascendancy. Earlybird (GER) assumed the lead of the 11-boat ClubSwan 50 Europeans on day three of the event, and the powerful German team played their cards perfectly today to maintain top spot. Porron IX (ESP) set aside her problems on day three and closed strong to reassert control of the 9-boat Swan 45 Worlds. Nadir (ESP) had already proved unstoppable in 8-boat ClubSwan 42 Europeans.

Event detailsResultsPhotos

The Nations Trophy 2017 – Final Results

ClubSwan 50 European Championship (11 Teams)
1. Earlybird (GER), Hendrik Brandis, 1+8+4+4+1+3+3+5=29
2. Bronenosec (RUS), Vladimir Liubomirov, 3+2+7+12(OCS)+4+5+1+1=35
3. Cuordileone (ITA), Leonardo Ferragamo, 2+1+5+6+9+6+4+2=35

Swan 45 World Championship (9 teams)
1. Porrón IX (ESP), Luís Senís, 1+1+2+4+6+8+2+5=29
2. Motions (NED), Lennard Van Oeveren, 6+5+5+3+1+1+6+4=31
3. Aphrodite (ITA), Pier Drancesco di Giuseppe, 3+9+1+5+5+3+3+2=31

ClubSwan 42 European Championship (8 teams)
1. Nadir (ESP), Pedro Vaquer, 3+3+2+1+1+1+1+6=18
2. Pez de Abril (ESP), José María Meseguer, 1+4+6+4+2+6+2+3=28
3. Far Star (ITA), Lorenzo Mondo, 2+1+3+5+4+7+7+1=30

The Nations Trophy 2017 (11 nations)
1. Spain (2)
2. Italy (6)
3. Germany (6)


comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.