Replacement event for WIM Series Finale

Published on October 24th, 2017

The 2017 Women’s International Match Racing (WIM) Series has announced the 2017 WIM Series Finale will be the 2017 International Bedanne’s Cup on December 11-16, held in Beneteau First Class 7.5 boats at Tourville-la-Rivière, France.

“Due to the catastrophic damage caused by Hurricanes Irma and Maria, the scheduled Carlos Aquilar Match Race event in St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands had to be canceled which left the WIM Series scrambling to find a replacement event,” said WIM Series Manager, Liz Baylis. “Fortunately for us, the the Ligue de Voile de Normandie and the Club Nautique de Saint Aubin – Elbeuf (CVSAE) stepped up to the plate. We look forward to working with these new partners to put on a world class event to finish the 2017 season.”

WIM SeriesInternational Bedanne’s CupFacebook

Background: The Women’s International Match Racing Series is in its fifth season, providing in 2017 a four-event professional sailing circuit organized by the Women’s International Match Racing Association for the world’s leading women match racing sailors.

2017 Women’s International Match Racing Series
June 16-21 – Women’s Match Racing World Championship – Helsinki, Finland
August 7-12 – Lysekil Women’s Match – Lysekil, Sweden
November 13-18 – Busan Cup Women’s International Match Race – Busan, South Korea
December 11-16 – International Bedanne’s Cup – Tourville-la-Rivière, France

WIM Series Standings (After 2 events)
1. Renée Groeneveld, Dutch Match Racing Team, NED, 47
2. Anna Östling, Team Anna, SWE, 38
3. Trine Palludan, Team Experience, DEN, 38
4. Pauline Courtois, Match in Pink by Normandy Elite Team, FRA, 34
5. Caroline Sylvan, New Sweden Match Racing Team, SWE, 26
6. Marinella Laaksonen, L2 Match Racing Team, FIN, 26
7. Lucy Macgregor, Team Mac, GBR, 25
8. Johanna Bergqvist, Team Bergqvist Match Racing, SWE, 20
9. Alexa Bezel, ChicaCER Women Match Racing Team, SUI, 14
10. Mikaela Fors, Pen & Hammer Sailing Team, FIN, 14
11. Antonia Degerlund, Team Sköna Vibbisar, FIN, 11
12. Linnéa Floser, Peregrine Racing, SWE, 8
13. Octavia Owen, Athena Racing, GBR, 7
14. Margot Riou, APCC Women’s Sailing Team, FRA, 7
15. Martina Karlemo, Team Karlemo, FIN, 6
16. Sanna Häger, Stockholm Match Racing Team, SWE, 4
17. Ekaterina Kochkina, Team SailWay, RUS, 3

Source: WIM Series

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.