US Disabled Sailing Events Merge

Published on February 15th, 2018

The C. Thomas Clagett, Jr. Memorial Clinic and Regatta and US Sailing have confirmed that the 2018 U.S. Para Sailing Championships, formerly known as the U.S. Disabled Sailing Championships, will be hosted at Sail Newport by The Clagett Regatta on June 19-24 in Newport, RI.

“The Clagett has a long history of working with US Sailing in an effort to provide opportunities to adaptive sailors,” commented Judy Clagett McLennan, President and Co-Founder of The Clagett Regatta. “Over the last sixteen years that The Clagett has been operating, we have seen Clagett alumni go on to win 19 medals at the Paralympic Games and many World Championships.”

“Combining competition with learning has always been a trademark of this event,” said Betsy Alison, Adult Director at US Sailing. “I believe this year’s Championship will provide these sailors with a unique opportunity to hone their skills and race against great competition in the historic sailing venue of Newport.”

The U.S. Para Sailing Championships is one of the oldest sailing regattas in the U.S. for sailors with disabilities. The talented field often includes Paralympians, US Sailing Team members, and new contenders.

This year’s Championships will be raced in three fleets, all of which are adapted for sailors with disabilities. A fourth fleet of Hansa 303s may also be added to the event.

• The U.S. Para Sailing Singlehanded Championship for the Judd Goldman Trophy will be raced in the 2.4mR class.
• The U.S. Para Sailing Doublehanded Championship for the Chandler Hovey Trophy will be raced in the RS Venture Connect.
• The U.S. Para Sailing Triplehanded Championship for the Gene Hinkel Trophy will be raced in Sonars.

Along with the Championship trophies, the C. Thomas Clagett, Jr. Trophy, the Susan B. Johnson – Sportsmanship Award, the Larry Gadsby – Most Improved Award, the Nick Scandone – Spirit Award and the Robie Pierce and Gene Hinkle – Seamanship Award will be presented to sailors taking part in the regatta.

In addition to the competition, the two boats that have been selected for potential inclusion in the 2024 Paralympic Games, the RS Venture Connect (doublehanded) and the Hansa 303 (singlehanded), will be on-site and available for the participating sailors to try. Short course fleet racing in the Hansa 303 may be conducted as a developmental class.

First established in 1986, the U.S. Independence Cup became US Sailing’s National Championship for sailors with disabilities in 1989. In 2007, the regatta moved under the championships division of US Sailing and was renamed the U.S. Disabled Sailing Championship. In 2018, the event was renamed the U.S. Para Sailing Championships.

Many competitors racing at the U.S. Para Sailing Championships and The Clagett have gone on to represent the United States at the Paralympics Games, including Nick Scandone and Maureen McKinnon, gold medalists in 2008; John Ruff, bronze medalist in 2008; Jennifer French and J.P. Creignou, silver medalists in 2012; Rick Doerr, Hugh Freund and Brad Kendell, silver medalists in 2016.

For more information about The 2018 Clagett and U.S. Para Sailing Championship, including Notice of Race and registration information, visit:

Source: The Clagett, US Sailing

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.