Canada names Olympic program sailors

Published on May 9th, 2018

Sail Canada has confirmed the members of the 2018-19 Canadian Sailing Team and the Canadian Sailing Development Squad.

Based on the current Sail Canada High-Performance Plan and the Podium Pathway, what had been previously known as the National Sailing Team or the Canadian Sailing Team has been divided into two divisions: The Canadian Sailing Team (“CST”) and The Canadian Sailing Development Squad (“CSDT”).

Sail Canada believes it is important to make a shift from the notion that receiving Sport Canada AAP funding (“carded”) automatically translate to Canadian Sailing Team or National Team status. Through this shift, Sail Canada hopes to better support athletes on both the CST and CSDT at their respective stages as they move through the Podium Pathway.

Twenty-six sailors were named to the Canadian Sailing Team and the Canadian Sailing Development Squad based on the Sport Canada qualification carding criteria and overall performance during the 2017-18 season.

Members of both the Canadian Sailing Team and the Canadian Sailing Development Squad receive funding through the Sport Canada Athlete Assistance Program: living and training allowance program to help offset the costs related to their sport. Additionally, sailors receive tuition support for post-secondary education during their high-performance career or following retirement.

Canadian Sailing Team (National Team):
Brenda Bowskill – Whitby, ON – RCYC – Laser Radial
Sarah Douglas – Toronto, ON – ABYC – Laser Radial
Isabella Bertold – Vancouver, BC – RVYC – Laser Radial
Tom Ramshaw – Toronto, ON – SLYC – Finn
Erin Rafuse – Halifax, NS – RNSYS – 49erFX
Robert Davis – Kingston, ON – KYC/ RCYC – Laser
Paul Tingley- Halifax NS, RNSYS – 2.4mR
Scott Lutes – Montreal, QC – AQVA – Sonar Class
John McRoberts – Victoria, BC – RVicYC – SKUD Class
Jackie Gay – Victoria, BC, RVicYC – 2.4mR
Bruce Millar – Victoria, BC – RvicYC – 2.4mR

Canadian Sailing Development Squad:
Luke Ruitenberg – St. Margaret’s Bay, NS – RNSYS – Laser
Fillah Karim – Vancouver, BC – RVYC – Laser
Noah Collinson – Toronto – RCYC – Laser
Kyle Martin – Vancouver, BC – RVYC – Finn
Coralie Vittecoq – Montreal, QC – HYC – Laser Radial
Madeline Gillis – Halifax, NS – RNSYS – FX/ I420
Georgia Lewin – Lafrance – Chester, NS – RNSYS – 49erFX/I420
Ali ten Hove – Kingston, ON – KYC – 49erFX
Mariah Millen – Toronto, ON – RCYC – 49erFX
Evan DePaul – Hamilton, ON – RHYC – 49er
William Jones – Hamilton, ON – RHYC – 49er
Ryan Wood – West Vancouver, BC – RVYC – 49er
Andrew Wood – West Vancouver, BC – RVYC – 49er
Pat Wilson – Kingston, ON – KYC/RNSYS – 49er/I420
Arie Moffat – Kingston, ON – KYC/RNSYS – 49er/I420

Source: Sail Canada

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.