Visit Pensacola

Medals and trophies presented at Youth Worlds Closing Ceremony

Published on July 20th, 2018

Corpus Christi, TX (July 20, 2018) – The 48th Youth Sailing World Championships drew to a close this evening with the presentation of the medals at the Closing Ceremony.

The Closing Ceremony was emceed by Augie Diaz, who won a gold medal in the Laser Class at the 2nd annual Youth Worlds in 1973 as an 18-year-old. Diaz is emblematic of the success that sailors can achieve after winning gold at the Youth Worlds. He’s gone on to win multiple world championships in the Snipe and Star classes, as well as a gold medal at the Pan American Games.

Other dignitaries in attendance were Jan Dawson, a Vice President of World Sailing, Jack Gierhart, the CEO of US Sailing, Craig Henderson, the Commodore of the Corpus Christi Yacht Club, and John Dunne, a representative from State Representative Todd Hunter’s office.

Of the many awards presented, few were of greater importance than the Bengt Julin Trophy, awarded to the National Team or a competitor that has, in the competitors’ opinion, done the most to foster international understanding and has displayed the attributes that should be encouraged in international competition. These attributes include, but are not limited to, sportsmanship, respect, graciousness, friendliness, and endeavour.

This year the Bengt Julin Trophy was presented to Rebekka and William Johannesen, Denmark’s crew in the Nacra 15 Class.

The brother/sister duo were recognised for their assistance after an accident at the finish line of one of their races. The German Nacra 15 crew, including Kristian Lenkmann and Philip Hall, was in distress. Lenkmann had injured her ribs and had to be taken to shore when the injury was compounded. After the crew was taken from the boat Hall tried to sail to shore in the stiff breeze and capsized.

Hall had difficulty righting the catamaran by himself. That’s when the Danish crew sprung into action. William Johannesen jumped in the water and swam over to help Hall right the boat, leaving Rebekka Johannesen alone to tend to their own boat.

Once the German boat was righted, Rebekka Johannesen sailed to leeward of the German boat and her brother leaped at least four feet through the air to rejoin his sister and compete in the ensuing race while Hall and a member of the race committee returned the German boat to shore.

The Danish sailors had no reason to assist in the recovery of the German boat other than good and fair sportsmanship. Therefore, the Johannesens were awarded the Bengt Julin Trophy.

Elizabeth Kratzig, the leader of the green team at the Youth Worlds, presented the inaugural Sustainability Award on behalf of 11th Hour Racing, the official sustainability partner of the Youth Sailing World Championships.

The Sustainability Award was presented to volunteer Rosemary Vaseliades, who was an active participant in keeping the venue clean and encouraged others to do the same.

After those trophies were presented the gold, silver and bronze medals were presented to each of the nine classes, along with the class trophies.

The World Sailing Prince Henry the Navigator Trophy was presented to Norwegians Mathias Berthet and Alexander Franks-Penty, gold medalists in the Boys’ 29er Class.

Malaysian Sailing Association President’s Trophy was presented to Norwegians Pia Andersen and Nora Edland, gold medalists in the Girls’ 29er Class.

The World Sailing Paul Phelan Trophy was presented to American Geronimo Nores, gold medalist in the Boys’ RS:X Class.

The World Sailing St. Moritz Windsurfing Trophy was presented to Islay Watson of Great Britain, gold medalist in the Girls’ RS:X Class.

The World Sailing St. Lawrence award was presented to New Zealand Josh Armit, gold medalist in the Boys’ Laser Radial Class.

The World Sailing Royal Netherlands Centennial Trophy was presented to American Charlotte Rose, the gold medalist in the Girls’ Laser Radial Class.

The Youth Sailing World Championship Trophy was presented to Americans JC Hermus and Walter Henry, gold medalists in the Boys’ 420 Class.

The RYA Trophy was presented to American twin sisters Carmen and Emma Cowles, gold medalists in the Girls’ 420 Class.

The World Sailing Paul Henderson Trophy was presented to Argentinians Teresa Romairone and Dante Cittadini, gold medalists in the mixed multihull Nacra 15 Class.

The final trophy, the Nations Trophy was presented to the U.S. Youth Worlds Team for winning gold in four classes and silver in a fifth (Girls’ 29er Class). The U.S. team finished with the low score of 28 points. New Zealand was second with 59 points, followed by Italy with 62 points.

Dawson closed the Youth Worlds by stating, “I now declare the championship closed.”

After that statement, the official World Sailing flag was presented to Team Poland. The 2019 Youth Sailing World Championship is scheduled for Gdniya, Poland in July 2019.

Top position from North America
420 Boys (23 entrants): 1. Joseph Hermus/ Walter Henry (USA)
420 Girls (22 entrants): 1. Carmen Cowles/ Emma Cowles (USA)
29er Boys (25 entrants): 14. Taylor Hasson/ Steven Hardee (ISV)
29er Girls (23 entrants): 2. Berta Puig/ Isabella Casaretto (USA)
Nacra 15 (24 entrants): 7. Nicolas Martin/ AnaClare Sole (USA)
Laser Radial Boys (58 entrants): 5. Charles Carraway (USA)
Laser Radial Girls (46 entrants): 1. Charlotte Rose (USA)
RS:X Boys (27 entrants): 1. Geronimo Nores (USA)
RS:X Girls (17 entrants): 13. Dominique Stater (USA)

The 48th annual Youth Sailing World Championships was held from July 16 to 20 with 382 youth sailors, aged 16 to 19, from 66 nations racing on Corpus Christi Bay in Texas, USA.

Event detailsResultsTwitterFacebook


About the Youth Worlds:
The Youth Worlds was first held in Sweden in 1971. The 2018 Youth Sailing World Championships will be the 48th edition of the championship.

As the regatta evolved further classes were added to bring the best young sailing talent across the world together in one place and in 1984 the Mistral windsurfer was added to the list of events with Knut Budig (GER) taking the first gold medal in San Diego, California.

Past notable winners include American’s Cup skippers, Chris Dickson (NZL), Russell Coutts (NZL), Dean Barker (NZL); Olympic medallists, Nathan Outteridge (AUS), Iain Jensen (AUS), Robert Scheidt (BRA), Amelie Lux (GER), Ben Ainslie (GBR), Iain Percy (GBR), Alessandra Sensini (ITA), Elise Rechichi (AUS) and Tessa Parkinson (AUS); Volvo Ocean Race sailors like Stuart Bannatyne (NZL) and Richard Clarke (CAN).

Source: World Sailing

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.