Addressing the issue of redress

Published on August 19th, 2020

The World Sailing Racing Rules Question and Answer Service is to support Race Officials, Member National Authorities and World Sailing Class Associations whereby they may submit questions through World Sailing concerning the Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS). This inquiry addresses repair time within the Olympic Men’s Skiff Class.

Situation
In an incident between two 49ers, boat A broke a rule of Part 2 while boat B did not break any rule, including rule 14, as it was not reasonably possible for her to avoid contact. As a result of the incident, one of the tiller extensions of boat B was broken. There was nothing boat B could have done to avoid the damage.

Boat B carried a spare tiller extension as required by the class rules and replaced the broken one with the spare as quick as reasonably possible, considering the conditions in the racing area. When boat B resumed racing, her position in that race was significantly worse than before she started to replace the broken tiller extension.

Question
Is boat B entitled to redress?

Answer
The 49er class rules require an additional tiller extension to be carried onboard, since breaking it is not uncommon and sailors should be able to replace it while racing. The operation is normally carried out without significantly impacting the boat’s finishing position.

However, if it is established that despite the crew replacing the tiller extension as soon as reasonably possible, the boat’s score or place in the race or the series has been made significantly worse through no fault of her own, the boat should be entitled to redress.

Tags: , ,



Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.