Montego Bay Race returns for 2022

Published on May 11th, 2021

After the January 2021 Pineapple Cup-Montego Bay Race was cancelled due to health regulations pertaining to COVID-19, the schedule shifted to 2022 for the 35th edition of the biennial race. The 811nm course from Miami to Jamaica will have two starts: PHRF on January 22 and ORC/Multihull fleets on January 23.

New for 2022 will be how the Silver Perpetual Pineapple Cup is awarded, which now will be presented to the overall winner of the most competitive fleet, calculated by averaging the corrected time deltas of the first 80% of the fleet. The fleet with the lowest average deltas will be eligible to win the Pineapple Cup.

The Pineapple Cup trophy dates back to 1961 where it was handcrafted in London. Throughout the years, the trophy has been awarded to some of the most well known names in yachting including John Kilroy, Ted Turner, and Robert F Johnson. The winner of the 2019 Governor General’s Trophy was awarded to the first place team in IRC, which was British entry Lady Mariposa onboard their Ker46.

The current course record was set by the MOD70 Argo in 2019 at 2 days, 0 hours, 7 minutes and 44 seconds.

Event informationRace detailsFacebook

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.