Navy leads College Team Race Nationals

Published on June 2nd, 2021

Annapolis, MD (June 2, 2021) – The Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association 2021 Team Race National Championship began today for 12 teams which qualified across the USA.

After completing the opening round robin, which had breeze building to the teens by the end of the day, the top six teams to advance to the championship round are US Naval Academy (10-1), Georgetown University (8-3), Roger Williams University (8-3), College of Charleston (8-3), Brown University (7-4), and Stanford University (7-4).

The two-day championship on June 2-3 begins with a single round robin series which advances the top 6 teams for a second round robin to narrow it down to the top four who then compete in a “Final Four” round in which the podium places are determined and a National Champion named. Scores carry over for each round.

In the absence of defending champion Yale University, here are the teams which qualified to compete for the Walter C. Wood Trophy:

Boston College – Newton, MA
Brown University – Providence, RI
College of Charleston – Charleston, SC
Georgetown University – Washington, DC
United States Merchant Marine Academy – Kings Point, NY
Jacksonville University – Jacksonville, FL
Roger Williams University – Bristol, RI
St. Mary’s College – St. Mary’s City, MD
Stanford University – Stanford, CA
Tufts University – Boston, MA
Tulane University – New Orleans, LA
US Naval Academy – Annapolis, MD

Event informationScoresFacebook

The 2021 Women’s Nationals, won by the College of Charleston, were held May 19-20. Following the Team Race Nationals will be the Coed National Championship on June 7-8.

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.