Visit Pensacola

20th Anniversary Clagett Newport

Published on June 26th, 2022

After two days of the coaching clinic and three days of competition on June 22-26, the sailors racing at the 20th Anniversary C. Thomas Clagett, Jr. Memorial Clinic and Regatta have congratulated their fellow sailors as they received the silverware in recognition of their results.

With racing in 2.mRs and Martin 16s for disabled sailors, 32 participants from across North America and the Caribbean, representing 10 states and territories and three Canadian provinces, competed on Narragansett Bay in Newport, RI.

In the 20 boat 2.4mR class, Julio Reguero (San Juan, Puerto Rico) dominated from start to finish, winning four of 10 races. Finishing in second place was Tony Pocklington (Ft. Meyers, FL) with Canadian Peter Wood in third.

Reguero, a Paralympian who sailed in the 2008 and 2012 games, is also a recipient of the 2.4mR boat he is sailing from the Clagett Boat Grant Program. As a result of his win in the 2.4mR class, Reguero has qualified for a place on Team Clagett. The inaugural team will represent Clagett Sailing at the 2022 2.4mR World Championships in Tampa, FL.

The Martin 16 class win went to the defending trophy holder Californian Carwile LeRoy, who was sailing with Tannis Hall from Mont Tremblant Canada. LeRoy won this class in 2019 and 2021, and for this hat trick, he won seven of nine races in the six boat fleet.

Finishing in second was Patrick LoDuca (Chicago, IL) and Jeff Long (Newport, RI), with this being LoDuca’s sixth edition, the first five in the Sonar and now the Martin 16. Long was a sailor at the very first Clagett Regatta 20 years ago when he sailed with Steve Anderson.

Joining Reguero on Team Clagett will be his fellow 2.4mR sailors Charlie Rosenfield (Woodstock, CT), Peter Eager (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) Delani Hulme-Lawrence (Saint Paul, Alberta, Canada), and the alternate team member is Chris Childers.

Team Clagett consists of the top three scoring 2.4 mR competitors with a disability, plus the next highest scoring 2.4mR Clagett Boat Grant Program recipient competitor and an alternate member is named. The team will be managed by Clagett alumni sailor Brad Johnson, himself a Paralympian in multiple sports.

Clagett trophies awarded for 2022:
• C. Thomas Clagett, Jr. Trophy: Julio Reguero
• Susan B Johnson – Sportsmanship Award: Tony Pocklington
• Larry Gadsby – Most Improved Award: Chris Childers
• Nick Scandone – Spirit Award: Shan McAdoo
• Robie Pierce and Gene Hinkle – Seamanship Award: John Seepe on a tie breaker (was tied with Andrew Parish)


comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.