Team Race entrants for College Nationals

Published on April 18th, 2023

The College Sailing National Championship Selection Committees have confirmed the 12 teams to compete in the 2023 Women’s Team Race National Championship and the 16 teams to vie for the and 2023 Open Team Race National Championship.

Aside from the conference champions that receive automatically qualify, the committees are charged with selecting the most competitive field of At-Large Teams for the National Championships. To be eligible, teams must have regional or cross-regional status, and must have competed in at least one ICSA Regatta in the corresponding discipline. Selectors shall consider exemplary performance throughout the season in that discipline. Selectors shall not consider geographic diversity, or a team’s record in any discipline in previous years.

Women’s Team Race Selection Committee:
• Allie Blecher
• Clinton Hayes
• Ned Jones
• Gabby Rizika
• Kelsey Wheeler

Open Team Race Selection Committee:
• Chris Barnard
• Derek Deskey
• Charlie Lalumiere
• Belle Strachan
• Molly Vandemoer

Women’s Team Race:

Conference Champions Receiving Automatic Qualification:
Cornell University (MAISA)
University of Michigan (MCSA)
Yale University (NEISA)
Stanford University (PCCSC)
College of Charleston (SAISA)
Tulane University (SEISA)

Full Field (Seeded):
1. Yale University
2. Stanford University
3. Brown University
4. Dartmouth College
5. Tulane University
6. Boston College
7. Harvard University
8. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
9. Cornell University
10. University of Pennsylvania
11. College of Charleston
12. University of Michigan

Open Team Race:

Conference Champions Receiving Automatic Qualification:
Georgetown University (MAISA)
Purdue University (MCSA)
Yale University (NEISA)
Stanford University (PCCSC)
University of Miami (SAISA)
Tulane University (SEISA)

Full Field (Seeded):
1. Yale University
2. Roger Williams University
3. Harvard University
4. Stanford University
5. Georgetown University
6. St. Mary’s College of Maryland
7. Dartmouth College
8. Brown University
9. U.S. Coast Guard Academy
10. Tulane University
11. University of Pennsylvania
12. U.S. Naval Academy
13. Tufts University
14. University of Miami
15. Fordham University
16. Purdue University

The selection committees will confirm the entrants for the Women’s and Open Fleet Race National Championships on May 2.

National Championship Schedule:
April 29-30, Women’s Team Race – Stanford, CA
May 23-26, Women’s Fleet Race – Kings Point, NY
May 27-29, Open Team Race – Kings Point, NY
May 30-June 2, Open Fleet Race – Kings Point, NY

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.