Visit Pensacola

Nominations open for Canada’s Rolex

Published on August 14th, 2023

Nominations for Sail Canada 2023 Rolex Sailor of the Year Award are now open and the deadline to apply is September 14, 2023.

Nominees will be individuals who, since September 15, 2022, have shown a significant involvement in activities which provided global recognition to Canadian sailing and Sail Canada, and who are renowned leaders that have attained high levels of excellence with significant results and accomplishments in world events or activities.

Additionally, priority is given to leaders who have attained high levels of excellence in Olympic/Paralympic class sailboat competitions. Along with recognition for exemplary sportsmanship, they hold the respect of their fellow sailors.

Amongst previous winners are Canada’s Olympic and Paralympic medalists Evert Bastet (2007), Terry McLaughlin (2001 and 2013), John McRoberts and Jackie Gay (2016), as well as Paul Tingley (2008), as is Ross MacDonald, who won it three times (1990, 1992 with Eric Jespersen and 2004 with Mike Wolfs).

Sarah Douglas as well as Antonia and Georgia Lewin-LaFrance have also received this prestigious award in the past few years.

Sail Canada’s Rolex Sailor of the Year Award will be presented at Canada’s 2023 Celebration of Sailing reception to be held October 17 at the Port Credit Yacht Club. The award has been given out annually since 1986.

For more information on the award, or to submit a nomination, click here.

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.