US Match Racing Champs in New York

Published on September 21st, 2023

A collection of the nation’s best match racers will square off at the 2023 U.S. Match Racing Championship*, hosted by Rochester Yacht Club on September 22-24 in Rochester, NY. Ten teams comprised of both male and female skippers and crew will compete in Sonars for the coveted Prince of Wales Bowl.

Chris Poole, currently ranked #1 in the world, is fresh off a win at the 2023 Grand Slam series and is looking to win his first U.S. Match Racing title.

Pearson Potts, 2018, 2019, and 2021 U.S. Match Racing Championship winner, returns to attempt a repeat of last year’s win with his team Guardians of the Monohull. “The event is a culmination of a full season of match racing where we have a good amount of dial ups under our belt from the Grand Slam,” said Potts. “I can’t wait to drink out of the Prince of Wales bowl again.”

Re-entering the U.S. Match Racing Championship field this year is 1984, 2005 and 2013 Championship winner Dave Dellenbaugh.

Competitor List:
• Nicole Breault
• Dave Dellenbaugh
• Jack Egan
• Clinton Hayes
• Chris Poole
• Pearson Potts
• Ryan Seago
• Roberto Stevens
• Christopher Weis
• Peter Wickwire

* The winning team, if comprised of 100% U.S. citizens or U.S. residents, will earn the title of U.S. Match Racing National Champion and win the Prince of Wales Bowl. When the winning team is not comprised of 100% U.S. citizens or U.S. residents, that team will be named the winners of the Prince of Wales Bowl. The title of U.S. Match Racing National Champion will be awarded to the highest placed finishing team of all U.S. citizens or U.S. Residents.


comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.