World Sailing Annual Conference in Spain

Published on November 10th, 2023

The Spanish city of Málaga will host the 2023 World Sailing Annual Conference on November 13-18.

Over 300 delegates, volunteers, committee members and the World Sailing Board and Council will convene to review and discuss World Sailing’s strategy for the coming year and beyond, making and ratifying key decisions that will impact sailing at every level, from elite professionals to recreational sailors.

Delegates include sailors, event organizers, Member National Authorities (MNAs), committee members, Class Associations, boat manufacturers, athletes, and representatives from World Sailing’s partners.

In advance of the Conference, World Sailing received 189 submissions proposing changes to World Sailing’s regulations, policies, and rules. Committees, MNAs, Class Associations, and the Board of Directors were all eligible to propose the submissions in advance of the Annual Conference.

World Sailing’s Council will meet on November 15 and 18 to approve, reject, or defer the recommendations and proposals from the Committees and will ratify proposals at the Annual General Meeting on November 18, the final meeting of the Annual Conference.

“This is a great opportunity for the community to come together, share suggestions to improve the sport, reflect upon our successes and where we can improve, and speak openly about the opportunities and challenges facing the sport we all love,” said David Graham, CEO of World Sailing.

“With the Paris 2024 Olympic Games and the 37th America’s Cup on the horizon next year, the Youth Sailing World Championships still to come this year, and events around the world showcasing the diversity of sailing, this year’s Annual Conference takes on extra significance.”

Further information on the conference, including the submissions, agendas and supporting papers: click here

As part of the conference, the 2023 World Sailing Awards will be presented on November 14, which includes the Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards, World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award, Team of the Year, and Boat of the Year. The Beppe Croce Trophy and the Presidents’ Development Award will also be presented.

Source: World Sailing

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.