Two winners at Singlehanded Nationals

Published on November 12th, 2023

Ava Anderson, ‘27 of Tulane University and Nicholas Reeser ‘25 from the U.S. Coast Guard Academy won the 2023 College Women’s and Open Singlehanded National Championships, held at Tulane University on November 11-12 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

The racing on Lake Pontchartrain began with overcast skies, 6-9 knots of breeze from the Northeast and a steady chop that had built overnight.

At the end of eight races in the Women’s event, Sarah Young ‘25 of Dartmouth University led with 44 points, followed by Agija Elerte ‘26 of Jacksonville University and Tulane Freshman Ava Anderson tied with 50 points.

In the Open fleet, Nicholas Reeser 25’ of U.S. Coast Guard Academy ended the day in first with 45 points, while Tulane sailors Thad Lettsome ‘24 and Hamilton Barclay ‘27 were next with 50 and 53 points respectively.

Conditions on day two set the stage for a showdown with 3-8 knots from the East Northeast and shifts over 30 degrees.

But Reeser held his lead to win the Glen S. Foster Trophy with a gap of 11 points. Tulane University’s Barclay claimed second overall with a bullet in the final race and Lettsome finishing third overall.

However, the Women’s championship came down to the final race, with each of the top three boats in a winner-take-all position. After the wind dropped significantly during the first beat, Tulane’s Ava Anderson secured the Janet Lutz Trophy with a bullet in the final race.

“It’s a pretty proud day for the Wave. Three podium finishers is a great way to end this weekend,” said Tulane University Head Coach Charles Higgins. “But to come away with a national championship win at home in front of your entire team is an accomplishment that so few have an opportunity to appreciate.”

Janet Lutz Trophy–Women’s Championship
1. Ava Anderson ‘27 Tulane University
2. Katharine Doble ‘26 Brown University
3. Agija Elerte ‘26 Jacksonville University


Glen S. Foster Trophy–Open Championship
1. Nicholas Reeser ‘25 U.S. Coast Guard Academy
2. Hamilton Barclay ‘27 Tulane University
3. Thad Lettsome ‘26 Tulane University


Source: ICSA

comment banner

Tags: , , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.