John Tomko and Ian Billings dominate 2013 Great Texas Catamaran Race

Published on June 17th, 2013

Team 2 Wire Sailing skipper John Tomko and crew Ian Billings won the 2013 Great Texas Catamaran Race, one of the premier long distance beach cat races in the country. In its 11th year, it attracted a field of six F18 teams and one N20 to compete in the four stage route that covered approximately 300 miles along the Texas coast.

John and Ian dominated the F18 fleet throughout the race. However, Team Chums with Lee Wicklund and David Cerdes sailing on a Nacra 20, did give them a run for their money for line honors. Chums was first to the beach on Leg 1 and Leg 2. The first leg started in South Padre Island on June 12 with the final leg finishing in Galveston on June 15.

Team 2 Wire Sailing also collected the trophy for fastest elapsed time and first in the F18 class. Also collecting trophies were Quiksilver, Mike Beuerlein and Philippe Bettle, second place in F18 class, Team Monkey Business, Steve Piche and Juke Ball, third place in F18 class, and Team Sailboat Shop, Mike Rohr and Chris Holt, fourth in the F18 class.

The race was held mostly in light to medium conditions. No boats broke down and everyone was able to finish all legs including our first woman skipper, Ingrid Bakker.

Event website:

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.