Volvo Ocean Race 2014-15 – 11 ports, 38,739 nautical miles

Published on January 29th, 2014

The route for the Volvo Ocean Race 2014-15 has been updated to now include 11 cities in 11 countries – Spain, South Africa, United Arab Emirates, China, New Zealand, Brazil, United States, Portugal, France, The Netherlands, and Sweden – and will require the teams to cover 38,739 nautical miles – equivalent to 44,580 miles or 71,745 kms.

The latest addition (announced Jan. 29) is a 24-hour pit-stop at The Hague, The Netherlands during the final leg from France to Sweden. This detour will connect the region with the Dutch-based Team Brunel which is competing in the race. “The Netherlands is, like New Zealand, a place where sailing in general and the Volvo Ocean Race in particular has a high awareness and a long history. We want to support that,” said Volvo Ocean Race CEO Knut Frostad.

The Race will start on October 4, 2014, day of the first In-Port Race in Alicante, and finish with a final In-Port Race on June 27, 2015 in Gothenburg, the Swedish home of Volvo. Click here for complete schedule.



comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.