Gotta Love It 7 takes form at 2014 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship

Published on March 2nd, 2014

Sydney, Australia (March 2, 2014) – Following yesterday’s anti-climax when racing was abandoned after two attempts to complete a full course, Race 2 of the 2014 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship went without major incident on Sydney Harbour today.

More poor wind conditions forced the race officer to shorten the course (a sensible decision) when the boats were almost drifting as they went for the windward mark in Rose Bay.

Gotta Love It 7 (Seve Jarvin, Sam Newton, Scott Babbage) had led from shortly after rounding the first windward mark and looked certain for victory on the second run to Obelisk Bay, but the lack of wind on the work back to Rose Bay saw a massive turn around.

At the finish, Jarvin took line honours by 48s from The Kitchen Maker but the result came down to just 20 metres in the dying stages.

Young Will Phillips only stepped onto The Kitchen Maker for this championship when regular sheet hand Darren McKavanagh was sidelined with a bad back.

Olympic Gold Medalist Malcolm Page, who normally skippers the boat elected to move onto the sheet and brought Will in to skipper.

The race for third was even closer as only 4s separated the third placed Thurlow Fisher Lawyers (Michael Coxon, Dave O’Connor, Trent Barnabas) and Jack Macartney’s Coopers 62-Rag & Famish Hotel.

With a light S-SE wind, and little change predicted, all teams elected to go for their bigger No. 1 rigs.

The race to the first windward mark was amazing as two newcomer, young skippers led the fleet which included many world champions and experienced 18 Footer teams.

PB Towage, Josh Franklin from Brisbane, held a narrow lead from Will Phillips in The Kitchen Maker with Gotta Love It 7 close behind.

UK’s Pica (Jamie Mears) was fourth, followed by Sydney City Marine (David Witt), Pure Blonde (Nick Daly), Haier Appliances (Rick Peacock, UK), Asko Appliances (Marcus Ashley-Jones) and Coopers 62-Rag & Famish Hotel.

The fleet produced a magnificent spectacle as the 34 skiffs raced from Clarke Island to Obelisk Bay with most boats racing in tight groups.

After working back to Rose Bay the first time, Gotta Love It 7 was leading from Thurlow Fisher Lawyers, followed by Coopers 62-Rag & Fisher Hotel, Mojo Wine (Chris Nicholson), C-Tech (Alex Vallings, NZ), Asko Appliances (Marcus Ashley-Jones) and Sydney City Marine (David Witt).

The breeze fell away dramatically as the fleet finished the first lap back at Athol Bay.

Click here for results.

The re-sail of Race 1 will take place Monday, March 3 on Sydney Harbour at 3pm local time.


Source: Information provided by Frank Quealey

The 2014 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship on March 1-9 is the 75th anniversary of the world’s greatest 18 Footer event which began on Sydney Harbour in 1938. Notable designers such as Ben Lexcen, Bruce Farr, Iain Murray and Julian Bethwaite have all been successful as winners, with Murray leading the charge claiming six consecutive wins from 1977-1982. In 2014, 5-time winning skipper Seve Jarvin will seek to match the master as Jarvin leads the Gotta Love It 7 team with Sam Newton and Scott Babbage. Murray is now the Gotta Love It 7 team manager.

March 1 – Race 1 (abandoned)
March 2 – Race 2
March 3 – Race 1 (re-sail)
March 4 – Race 3
March 5 – Race 4
March 6 – Race 5
March 8 – Race 6
March 9 – Race 7


1. Gotta Love It 7 – Seve Jarvin, Sam Newton, Scott Babbage – Australia
2. Thurlow Fisher Lawyers – Michael Coxon, Dave O’Connor, Trent Barnabas – Australia
3. Mojo Wine – Chris Nicholson, Mike McKensey, Ricky Bridge – Australia
4. C-Tech – Alex Vallings, Chris Kitchen, Joshua McCormack – New Zealand
5. Coopers 62-Rag & Famish Hotel – Jack Macartney, Mark Kennedy, Peter Harris – Australia
6. Sydney City Marine – David Witt, Tom Clout, Matt Wark – Australia
7. Smeg – Nick Press, Dan Phillips, Dave Ewings – Australia
8. Yamaha – David McDiarmid, Andrew Archibald, Mark Overington – New Zealand
9. Fisher & Paykel – Grant Rollerson, Peter Nicholson, Geoff Bauchop – Australia
10. Asko Appliances – Marcus Ashley-Jones, James Dorron, Jeronimo Harrison – Australia
11. Lumix – Jonathan Whitty, James Hozack, Aron Everett – Australia
12. Pica – Jamie Mears, Stewart Mears,Matt Searle – UK
13. CST Composites – Howie Hamlin, Mike Martin, Nick Catley – USA
14. Winning Appliances – Shane Smith, Shane Dickson, Jake Restall – Australia
15. Yandoo – John Winning, Andrew Hay, Jim Beck – Australia
16. – Micah Lane, Paul Montague, Tom Anderson – Australia
17. Haier Appliances – Rick Peacock, Tristan Hutt, Nick Murray – UK
18. Rabbitohs-Kenwood – Brett Van Munster, Joel Castle, Kurt Fatouris – Australia
19. The Kitchen Maker – Will Phillips, Malcolm Page, Cameron McDonald – Australia
20. Knight Frank – Riley Dean, Matt Coutts, John Little – New Zealand
21. Original Chia – Flemming Clausen, Soren Clausen, tba – Denmark
22. De’Longhi-Rabbitohs – Simon Nearn, Kieryn Cowan, Keagan York – Australia
23. Pure Blonde – Nick Daly, John Walton, James Smithers – Australia
24. Black Dog – Jarrod Simpson, tba, tba – UK
25. Maersk Line – Graham Catley, Matt Randell, Brad Collins – New Zealand
26. Hyde Sails – Jack Grogan, Sam Caslin, Michael Banks – UK
27. Magic Marine – Norbetr Peter, Finn Mrugalla, Eike Dietrich – Germany
28. – Pedro Vozone, Jakub Jankowski, Daniel Watson – Australia
29. EuroLink – Friedrich Renner, Christian Meissner, Thomas Eggersdorfer – Germany
30. PB Towage – Josh Franklin, Tristan Hamilton, Barry Flanagan – Australia
31. Viagogo – Alexandra South, Locky Pryer, James Slee – Australia
32. Ilve – Oliver Hartas, Josh Marks, Tim Lake – Australia
33. Brisbane 18 Footers – Laurie Williamson, Daniel Smith, Nathan Smittmann – Australia
34. CT Sailbattens – Skip McCormack, Jody McCormack, Joe Penrod – USA

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.