Seve Jarvin claims sixth JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship title

Published on March 9th, 2014

Sydney, Australia (March 9, 2014) – The Gotta Love It 7 team of Seve Jarvin, Sam Newton and Scott Babbage officially became the 2014 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff champions today after a magnificent regatta performance which saw the team score five wins and one second place from the six races which count towards the final points.

The win gave skipper Seve Jarvin his sixth victory as a skipper in the championship, equaling the record of Iain Murray (1977-1982, inclusive), who is now team manager for Gotta Love It 7.

In today’s Race 7 of the 2014 championship, Gotta Love It 7 failed to register a perfect score by just 12s when the Asko Appliances team of Marcus Ashley-Jones, James Dorron and Jeronimo Harrison took the honours after a long battle with ‘7’ and third placed Yamaha, from New Zealand, which was only 7s behind ‘7’.

Mojo Wine (Chris Nicholson) finished fourth today, ahead of Pure Blonde (Nick Daly) and C-Tech (Alex Vallings, NZ).

Gotta Love It 7 finished on 7 points for a comprehensive victory.

Although only 11th today, Thurlow Fisher Lawyers (Michael Coxon, Dave O’Connor, Trent Barnabas) was runner-up overall on 24 points followed by Mojo Wine (Chris Nicholson, Mike McKensey, Ricky Bridge) on 28, C-Tech on 30, Yamaha 35 and Asko Appliances on 41.

Today, the three placegetters put on a great contest in the light ENE breeze for the entire course and only 19s separated the three teams at the finish.

Yamaha (David Mc Diarmid, Andrew Archbald, Mark Overington) took the lead soon after the start but Gotta Love It 7 was making a move and soon had pressure on the leader.

The Kiwi boat had good boat speed and sailed a great course as she held off ‘7’ to lead by 17s at the windward mark.

Asko Appliances was about another 1 min. behind the leader at that stage.

Yamaha extended the lead on the spinnaker run back to the bottom mark after electing to sail a totally different course to Gotta Love It 7.

Asko was also fast and joined ‘7’ as the pair turned for the next windward leg.

Another good leg upwind and Asko Appliances took the lead, while Gotta Love It 7 took Yamaha which seemed to suffer from a lack of local knowledge.

As the leaders headed for home Gotta Love It 7 had once again taken the lead late in a race and seemed a likely winner.

With only a few hundred metres from the finish Gotta Love It 7 still led but a brilliant finish by Asko Appliances grabbed a victory in the dying stages.

Results: Race 7Final results

Photo Gallery

Source: Information provided by Frank Quealey

The 2014 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship on March 1-9 is the 75th anniversary of the world’s greatest 18 Footer event which began on Sydney Harbour in 1938. Notable designers such as Ben Lexcen, Bruce Farr, Iain Murray and Julian Bethwaite have all been successful as winners, with Murray leading the charge claiming six consecutive wins from 1977-1982. In 2014, 5-time winning skipper Seve Jarvin will seek to match the master as Jarvin leads the Gotta Love It 7 team with Sam Newton and Scott Babbage. Murray is now the Gotta Love It 7 team manager.

March 1 – Race 1 (abandoned)
March 2 – Race 2
March 3 – Race 1 (re-sail)
March 4 – Race 3
March 5 – Race 4
March 6 – Race 5
March 8 – Race 6
March 9 – Race 7

1. Gotta Love It 7 – Seve Jarvin, Sam Newton, Scott Babbage – Australia
2. Thurlow Fisher Lawyers – Michael Coxon, Dave O’Connor, Trent Barnabas – Australia
3. Mojo Wine – Chris Nicholson, Mike McKensey, Ricky Bridge – Australia
4. C-Tech – Alex Vallings, Chris Kitchen, Joshua McCormack – New Zealand
5. Coopers 62-Rag & Famish Hotel – Jack Macartney, Mark Kennedy, Peter Harris – Australia
6. Sydney City Marine – David Witt, Tom Clout, Matt Wark – Australia
7. Smeg – Nick Press, Dan Phillips, Dave Ewings – Australia
8. Yamaha – David McDiarmid, Andrew Archibald, Mark Overington – New Zealand
9. Fisher & Paykel – Grant Rollerson, Peter Nicholson, Geoff Bauchop – Australia
10. Asko Appliances – Marcus Ashley-Jones, James Dorron, Jeronimo Harrison – Australia
11. Lumix – Jonathan Whitty, James Hozack, Aron Everett – Australia
12. Pica – Jamie Mears, Stewart Mears,Matt Searle – UK
13. CST Composites – Howie Hamlin, Mike Martin, Nick Catley – USA
14. Winning Appliances – Shane Smith, Shane Dickson, Jake Restall – Australia
15. Yandoo – John Winning, Andrew Hay, Jim Beck – Australia
16. – Micah Lane, Paul Montague, Tom Anderson – Australia
17. Haier Appliances – Rick Peacock, Tristan Hutt, Nick Murray – UK
18. Rabbitohs-Kenwood – Brett Van Munster, Joel Castle, Kurt Fatouris – Australia
19. The Kitchen Maker – Will Phillips, Malcolm Page, Cameron McDonald – Australia
20. Knight Frank – Riley Dean, Matt Coutts, John Little – New Zealand
21. Original Chia – Flemming Clausen, Soren Clausen, tba – Denmark
22. De’Longhi-Rabbitohs – Simon Nearn, Kieryn Cowan, Keagan York – Australia
23. Pure Blonde – Nick Daly, John Walton, James Smithers – Australia
24. Black Dog – Jarrod Simpson, tba, tba – UK
25. Maersk Line – Graham Catley, Matt Randell, Brad Collins – New Zealand
26. Hyde Sails – Jack Grogan, Sam Caslin, Michael Banks – UK
27. Magic Marine – Norbetr Peter, Finn Mrugalla, Eike Dietrich – Germany
28. – Pedro Vozone, Jakub Jankowski, Daniel Watson – Australia
29. EuroLink – Friedrich Renner, Christian Meissner, Thomas Eggersdorfer – Germany
30. PB Towage – Josh Franklin, Tristan Hamilton, Barry Flanagan – Australia
31. Viagogo – Alexandra South, Locky Pryer, James Slee – Australia
32. Ilve – Oliver Hartas, Josh Marks, Tim Lake – Australia
33. Brisbane 18 Footers – Laurie Williamson, Daniel Smith, Nathan Smittmann – Australia
34. CT Sailbattens – Skip McCormack, Jody McCormack, Joe Penrod – USA

comment banner

Tags: , , , , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.