Peter Keck, Ben Porter win C Scow National Championship

Published on June 15th, 2014

Sixty-nine boats competed for the C Scow National Championship on June 13-15, hosted by Nagawicka Lake Yacht Club in Delafield, WI.

Friday greeted sailors with heavy winds. After a skippers meeting the fleet went out for back to back races. Race 1 was won by Lou Morgan and Dave Harris on the OO-824. Race 2 was won by John Porter and substitute crew Gordy Lamphere sailing the B-317. After lunch the fleet came back out to medium breeze that tapered to light breeze by the end of the race. The fleet had some issues staying behind the starting line and after 2 general recalls, the race committee raised the Z flag for the final start of race 3. The I-45 sailed by the Burdick Family (Andy, Candace, Mya, and Finn) won the last race of day 1.

Day 2 on Saturday greeted sailors with light/medium breeze. On leg 4 of the 7 leg race the wind shifted 90 degrees and the race was cancelled. After the course was reset, the sailors sailed the next race with Ryan Grosch and Mark Schaubel winning the race on the N-47. The fleet went in for lunch and after lunch the breeze started to build. The fleet sailed two races in the afternoon with Peter Keck and super crew Ben Porter winning race number 5. The last race of the day and regatta had heavy air and was won by Andy Burdick.

The regatta finished a day early with Peter Keck and Ben Porter winning the event. This is Peter’s seventh nationals win (4 as crew and third as a skipper). His victory was made sweeter by winning on his home lake.

Click here for full results.

Note: Fifteen juniors attended this year’s national championship. The National C Scow Sailing Association (NCSSA) pays for junior sailor regattas if they are members of the NCSSA.

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.