Harken Derm

Clipper Race: GREAT Britain wins battle, Henri Lloyd wins war

Published on July 11th, 2014

London, UK (July 11, 2014) – GREAT Britain has won the final race of the Clipper 2013-14 Round the World Yacht Race, arriving into its home port off Southend, UK at 20:44:33 BST/19:44:33 UTC.

Henri Lloyd finished in second place at 20:55:33/19:55:33 UTC, its eleventh podium of the overall race. The team, skippered by Canadian Eric Holden, will be crowned champions tomorrow at the prizegiving ceremony in St Katharine Docks, London.

OneDLL has successfully managed to hold onto its third position on the podium, holding off rivals Derry~Londonderry~Doire by finishing Race 16 in third place at 21:00:37 BST/20:00.37 UTC.

OneDLL was just three points ahead of Derry~Londonderry~Doire going into the final race, and Derry~Londonderry~Doire finished five minutes behind in fourth place at 21:05:00 BST/20:05.00.

The boats in the matched fleet are finishing seconds and minutes apart. Team Garmin has finished Race 16 in fifth at 21:16:15 BST/20:16:15 UTC, Old Pulteney in sixth at 21:18:44 BST/ 20:18:44 UTC, PSP Logistics in seventh at 21:18:56 BST/20:18.56 UTC, Jamaica Get All Right in eighth at 21:19:47 BST/ 20:19:47 UTC, and Qingdao in ninth at 21:21:30 BST/20:21:30 UTC.

Switzerland finished at 22:32 BST/21:32 (UTC).

The short 250 mile sprint to the UK started off the Dutch coast yesterday following the final stopover of the race in Den Helder, The Netherlands.

Tomorrow, thousands of spectators are exected to line the banks of the River Thames and watch some of the 670 international amateur crew in a homecoming Parade of Sail which will conclude with Tower Bridge lifting for the top three teams at 12:45 BST.

A total of 670 crew members from 42 different countries have battled hurricanes, survived a tornado, dealt with medical evacuations and the miraculous rescue of a man who went overboard in the Pacific Ocean for 90 minutes.

Winning team Henri Lloyd will be presented with the Clipper Race trophy having been victorious in the world’s longest ocean race.

Report by event media.

Skipper reports: http://www.clipperroundtheworld.com/skipper-reports
Crew diaries: http://www.clipperroundtheworld.com/crew-diaries
Race tracker: http://yb.tl/clipper2013-race16
Race website:

Background:
The 40,000 mile Clipper 2013-14 Round the World Yacht Race began in London, UK on September 1 for the fleet of twelve identical Tony Castro designed Clipper 70s.

The 12 teams began the final race, 250nm from Den Helder, Netherlands to London UK, on July 10, 2014.

The race route includes Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; Cape Town, South Africa; Albany, Sydney, Hobart and Brisbane, Australia; Singapore; Qingdao, China; San Francisco, USA; Panama; Jamaica; New York, USA; Derry-Londonderry, Ireland; and Den Helder, Netherlands before returning to London on July 12.

Tags:



Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.