Former Governor’s Cup winners in Final

Published on July 18th, 2014

Corona del Mar (July 18, 2014) – With the perfect conditions, the Race Committee completed all the matches except the finals, which will happen on Saturday starting about noon.

Reaching the Semi-Final round was defending champion Sam Gilmour (AUS), who chose to race Will Holz’s team from Chicago Yacht Club, winning three races in a row. The second series in the Semi-Finals was between San Diego Yacht Club’s Nevin Snow and Balboa Yacht Club’s Christophe Killian, with Nevin’s team winning 3 of 4 races.

Killian will be racing against Holz for third place on Saturday.

As Nevin won the 2011 Governor’s Cup, both finalists will have a chance to join the elite group of racers who have won twice. That exceptional group of repeating winners includes Americans Argyle Campbell, Andy Rose, Brad Wheeler, Mike Pinckney, Chris Redman, Colin Campbell, Murray Gordon, Michael Menninger, and Kiwi William Tiller.

Race website:

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.