Singlehanded TransPacific Yacht Race – Collecting the Bling

Published on July 21st, 2014

The 19th edition of the Singlehanded TransPacific Yacht Race began June 28 for 21 entrants leaving San Francisco Bay for Hanalei Bay, Kauai, Hawaii. Hosted by the Singlehanded Sailing Society, at their Awards Ceremonies Saturday night, the 14 finishers received their coveted TransPac belt buckles, signifying successful completion of their 2,120-mile sprint from San Francisco.

The most prestigious award of this biennial race is the Hanalei Yacht Club Trophy, presented to the singlehander who placed first on corrected time in a monohull. This year’s winner was Steve Hodges, who successfully raced his Islander 36 Frolic in the Harrier Division. “This was my second Singlehanded TransPac race,” says Steve. “Doing well was a huge highlight and I didn’t break anything. I didn’t’ really expect to do as well but I redoubled my effort knowing I had a chance to be at the top.”

Hodges also won the Jim Tallet Memorial Trophy for first on corrected time on a yacht from outside Northern California, and the Displacement Monohull Trophy for first on elapsed time in a heavier monohull.

Al Germain of the Wylie 30 Bandicoot received the Latitude 38 / Nelson’s Trophy for first to finish on corrected time in a monohull from Northern California. He also came in first among the Capri+ Division racers, despite breaking his wishbone boom. “I put that down as operator error,” says Al. “The preventer wasn’t rigged to allow it to break before the boom broke.” Fortunately he was able to fix it temporarily with a makeshift sleeve and some serious tape – slowing him down but not stopping him. – Latitude 38, Full Story

Event website:

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.