Rum runners, horse rides, and the famous fudge

Published on July 22nd, 2014

Mackinac Island, MI (July 22, 2014) – For the 317 boats that started the 106th Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac on Friday and Saturday, the forecast was for a slow race to the resort island and its famous features. But the 333-mile race from the Chicago Lighthouse through Lake Michigan was better than expected, and particularly good for Jerry and Greg Miarecki.

The Miareckis pulled a hat trick as the father and son team won their third consecutive Race to Mackinac on their Ericson 35 MK II Providence, taking overall honors in the Chicago-Mackinac Trophy Division.

The prominent overall prizes, the Mackinac Trophy and Mackinac Cup, are awarded to the larger and the smaller monohull yacht divisions under ORR.

Greg Miarecki, who currently serves as Vice Commodore of the Chicago Yacht Club, said that in many ways, this year’s race was similar to 2013 – except for the fact that they finished approximately 24 hours faster than the 105th Race.

“Both years, the weather was very pleasant, and there was no threat of rain or thunderstorms. We had to make decisions about whether to go west or east. And in both years, the choice to go west was correct. We’re happy to be here almost an entire day earlier than last year. Everyone, including the sailors, the Race Committee, and the folks on Mackinac Island, likes a faster race. This was a great year.”

Winning the Mackinac Cup Division was To the Moon, a Swan 42 owned by Robert Berg with an 11-person crew representing the New York Yacht Club.

Richard Clarke, navigator of To the Moon commented: “We’re obviously very excited as crew to win the Chicago Mac race. We had a good game plan before the start, and we stuck to our game plan. It was a little different than the rest of the fleet. When the lights came on Sunday morning and there were no boats around us, we were a little nervous. But when the Santa Cruz 70s were the first ones we could see, we knew we were up there with the big boats. The crew did a great job. We were pretty exhilarated and shattered when it was all said and done.”

Bob Berg, skipper of To the Moon, said his daughter, Katie, who is on the women’s sailing team at the University of South Florida, came up with the idea to do the Mac last summer.

“It was the first event that my daughter Katie and I did,” Berg said. “It was her idea. We had and extraordinary team and extraordinary efforts by the crew, and it all worked out. It was tremendous to do it with my daughter.”

Berg said that although they haven’t talked about it in detail yet, there’s a high chance that they’ll be back to do the Mac next year.

Race Chairman Matt Gallagher was ecstatic with the 106th Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac.

“Each year, the Mac is determined by the weather, the wind, talent, and spirit of all crews participating,” said Gallagher. “The competition and camaraderie bring sailors back year after year, and I’m certain that this year will hold special memories for all who were involved. Congratulations to all racers for a successful and safe race. We’ll see you in July 2015.”

Winners of the 2014 Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac
Winner of the Chicago-Mackinac Trophy was Providence, owned by Jerry and Greg Miarecki representing the Chicago Yacht Club, with a corrected time of 41:35:28. Providence is an Ericson 35 MK II. In second was Cynthia, a Morgan 41 owned by Andrew Grootendorst and James B. DeVries, with a corrected time of 42:23:55. In third was Viper, a Hunter 35 WK owned by F. William Laslow, with a corrected time of 42:59:43.

Winner of the Mackinac Cup, was To the Moon, owned by Robert Berg representing the New York Yacht Club, with a corrected time of 42:11:45. To the Moon is a Swan 42. In second was the J/111 Nosurprise, owned by David Irish with a corrected time of 42:46:36. In third was Aftershock, a Farr 395 owned by William M. Newman, at 42:58:37 corrected time.

Andraz Mihelin’s SeaCan won the Doublehanded Division with a corrected time of 43:57:34. SeaCan is a Seascape 27 from Slovenia.

Caliente won the Multihull Division with a corrected time of 44:20:58. Caliente is a Cris White 44 owned by Michael Steck representing the Chicago Yacht Club.

Hope won overall honors in the 41-boat Cruising Division with a corrected time of 40:35:57. Hope is a Najad 332 owned by Dr. Michael Leland, representing the Michigan City Yacht Club.

Infinite Diversion, a Hanse 630e owned by Chicago Yacht Club Past Commodore Joseph S. Haas, won the Ile Aux Galets Cup. Infinite Diversion was the first Cruising Division boat to finish, crossing the line Sunday morning with an elapsed time of time of 42:44:51.

The Royono Troping was awarded to Windquest, a Max Z86 owned by Dick and Doug DeVos. Windquest, the first boat in the racing division to finish, crossed the line Sunday night with an elapsed time of 32:15:50.

The 107th Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac will begin July 11, 2015.


Race website:

Report by event media.


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.