Kingston thermal arrives just in time at CORK OCR

Published on August 17th, 2014

Kingston, ON (August 17, 2014) – Winds started off light for the second day of CORK OCR, with cooler than average temperatures lingering for another day. Average wind speed was 4 – 8 knots when racing was scheduled to begin at 1100. Luckily the thermal effect in Kingston took over by 3pm with average winds increased to 12-14 knots.

Today was the final day of racing for the Albacore North American Championship, finishing with a total of 6 races over 2 days. Canadians Robert Bartlewski & Felipe Recaman of MSC take first place, followed by Barney Harris & David Byron of the USA in second, while Canadians James Stanley & Julie Stewart take third representing OHCC. Prizes were presented after racing.

In the 49er and FX fleets the top 3 positions remain unchanged since day one. David Mori & Justin Barnes (RCYC) hold on to first place in the 49er fleet, Michael Brodeur & Dan Inkpen are in second and John & Arthur Ferguson (RCYC) in third. In FX action Erin Berry & Ingrid Merry (RCYC) stay in the top spot, followed by Arielle Morgan & Heather Myatt (RSTLYC) and Danielle Boyd & Erin Rafuse (RNSYS/KYC) sitting in second and third respectively.

F18 sailors Michael Easton & Tripp Burd (NENSA) have a strong lead on Anthony Boueilh & Maxime Loiselle (BDB) in second and Sandra Tartaglino and Alex Shafer (NENSA) in third. Similarly, for the I14 fleet, Ian Struthers & Dan Cunningham have a comfortable hold on first, ahead of Jason Lemiex & Lauren Laventure and Greg Loffree & Ryan Garreth, all representing RCYC. In the Viper fleet Steve Conger (CSYS), Steve Champam (BYC) and Daren Gilbert (FYC) are currently the top three.

In single handed action Laser results show Cy Thompson (STYC), Robert Davis (KYC/RCYC) and Tom Ramshaw (SLYC) at the top of the pack. Brenda Bowskill (RCYC) continues to lead the Radial fleet, followed by Connor Blouin (DIYC) and Alexander Fritz (RVYC). When it comes to the Finn fleet Martin Robitaille (RCYC/CVL), Greg Douglas (RCYC) and Kyle Martin (RVanYC) hold the top spots.

On the board course Laurence Bonneau-Charland (Multi Voile), Fannie de Alcala (CVDM) and Caroline Emmanu de Alcala (CVDM) are the top 3 RS:X. Nevin Sayre (Vineyard Haven YC), Andree Gauthier (TWC) and Rick Collins are at the front of the pack for Kona.

Racing continues tomorrow and will be the final day of racing for Windsurfer fleets, F18 and I14. Event concludes August 20.

CORK websiteResults
Source: Event media

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.