CORK OCR rolls through third day of competition

Published on August 18th, 2014

Kingston, ON (August 18, 2014) – Day three of CORK OCR started off with an unstable easterly breeze in the Kingston harbour. After some waiting the wind switched to the South West and first races started just before 2pm.

This is the final day of racing for the Viper, F18, I14, Kona, RS:X and Bic 293 fleets. Michael Easton & Tripp Burd (NENSA) walk away with first place in the F18 Canadian Championship, Sandra Tartaglino & Alex Shafer (NENSA) and Anthony Boueilh &Maxime Loiselle (BDB) follow in second and third. The Vipers finish their event (Canadian & Great Lakes Championship) with 9 races. Steve Conger (CSYC) takes first place, only one point ahead of Steve Champman (BYC) in second. Darren Gilbert (FYC) takes third.

The boards were held ashore before heading to the racecourse as the wind filled in. Title of North American Kona Champion goes to Nevin Sayre (Vineyard Haven YC) with 8 bullets in 9 races. Second place goes to Andree Gauthier (TWC), followed by Rick Collins (BYC) in third. Jack Feder wins the Silver fleet and Anthony Swaelens (CVDM) raced as the only Bic 293 on the roster.

Competitors in the I14 Canadian Championship finish their event with 11 races on the scorecard. Ian Struthers & Dan Cunningham (RCYC) finished first overall, winning 7 of their 11 races. Jason Lemieux & Lauren Laventure (RCYC) and Greg Loffree & Ryan Gareth (RCYC) finished in second and third respectively. In the RS:X 8.5 fleet Laurence Bonneau-Charland(Multivoile) finishes first, followed by Fannie De Alcala (CVDM) who takes title of Canadian Youth Champion & Top Female and Caroline Emmanu De Alcala (CVDM). In the RS:X 9.5 fleet Gabriel Verner Paquette (CVDM) takes the top spot and Canadian Youth Champion title. Jean Sebastien Fugere (Multivoile) and Moahmed Elsafty finish second and third.

With two days of racing to go Cy Thompson (ISV) is leading the Lasers, Connor Blouin (DIYC) leads Radial fleet and CST sailor Martin Robitaille (RCYC/CVL) is in the lead for the Finns.

In skiff action CST members David Mori & Justin Barnes (RCYC) continue to Lead the 49er fleet, while teammates Arielle Morgan & Heather Myatt (RSTLYC) move into first in the FX fleet. Both fleets have two days of racing remaining.

CORK websiteResults

Source: Event media

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.