Visit Pensacola

Championship of Champions to be settled in Thistles

Published on October 9th, 2014

Cleveland, OH (October 9, 2014) – US Sailing’s Championship of Champions in 2014 will bring together 20 helmsmen who have qualified by winning a 2013 or 2014 one-design class National, North American, or World Championship. Teams will be tested in Thistles on October 10-12, hosted by the Edgewater Yacht Club on Lake Erie.

Among the competitors at this year’s Championship of Champions is special guest Greg Fisher, one of the most accomplished competitors in United States sailing history. Fisher has captured 21 North American or National Championships in seven different classes including the Lightning, Thistle and Flying Scot over the course of his expansive professional sailing career. He is also a World Champion in the J/22. The former All-American is the Director of Sailing at the College of Charleston.

Several past winners of this championship have returned to take another shot at winning the Jack Brown Trophy. These skippers include Chris Raab (2010), Skip Dieball (2009), and Doug Kaukeinen (2008).

Event websiteCompetitor list

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.