Eric Holden named 2014 Sail Canada Rolex Sailor of the Year

Published on February 6th, 2015

10959636_403554676473411_3300995523136272010_nToronto, ONT (February 6, 2015) – Sail Canada and Rolex Canada have announced that the 2014 Sail Canada Rolex Sailor of the Year is Eric Holden. The Sail Canada Awards night cluminated with the three finalists – Andy Roy, Eric Holden, and the Canadian Sonar team (Paul Tingley, Logan Campbell, and Scott Lutes) awaiting the live announcement by Rolex Canada Ltd. President and CEO, Victor Royce.

Roars of applause erupted from the glamorous round room with over 30 members of the Clipper crew in attendance supporting Eric and the Henri Lloyd crew accepting the Gerry Roufs Award.

Eric was presented with the illustrious Oyster Perpetual Submariner Date Rolex watch for his achievements on the Clipper Round the World Race. “It is a great honour to accept this prestigious award from Sail Canada and Rolex Canada,” said Holden. “I am very proud to have represented Canada as the first Canadian skipper of the Clipper Round the World Race but I am even more proud of taking a crew of 55 individuals with very little sailing experience and turning them into a cohesive and winning team.”

For recent stories on the 3-time Sailor of the Month Eric Holden:

Sailor of the Month – April
Sailor of the Month – May
Sailor of the Month – July
Finalist Highlights

All 2014 Sail Canada award recipients

Skippers’ Plan Female Athlete of the Year
Isabella Bertold

Skippers’ Plan Male Athlete / Team of the Year
Paul Tingley, Scott Lutes, Logan Campbell

Volunteer of the Year
Warren Nethercote

Bill Burk Youth Elite Memorial
Male – Andrew & Ryan Wood
Female – Antonia Lewin-LaFrance

Gerry Roufs Trophy
The Five Canadian Crew of Team Henri Lloyd: Fiona Garforth-Bles, James Dick, Michael Jauncey, Morgen Watson, Phil Driver

Coach of the Year
Kevin Black

Instructor of the Year
Matthew Morash

Marvin McDill Memorial Award
John & Arthur Ferguson

Nathan R Cowan Memorial Award for Developing Sailors
Kyle Martin

William Abbott Sr. Trophy; Sail Training Program of the Year
Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadron

Recreation Event of the Year
GHYRA Regatta Week

City of Kingston Regatta of the Year
IFDS Worlds; Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadron

Chisholm Trophy for Excellence in Race Management
Shark World Championship; National Yacht Club

Rolex Sailor of the Year
Eric Holden

Report by Sail Canada

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.