Neil Fraser named Yachting Cup overall winner

Published on May 3rd, 2015

San Diego, CA (May 3, 2015) – There’s one word that competitors won’t be using to describe the final day of racing at the 2015 Yachting Cup: boring. Sunday’s racing saw split head sails, shrimped kites, and a sailor in the water all in one race.

Ultimately, it was Neil Fraser’s 1D35 Mexican Divorce that was selected as the overall winner for the 43rd annual Yachting Cup. With 11 different fleets and heavy competition throughout each, the Organizing Authority had quite a tedious task in selecting the overall Yachting Cup winner.

Fraser, who is based out of South Bay Yacht Racing Club in Marina del Rey, competed in the Division B class on Mexican Divorce. The Organizing Authority had two basic criteria that needed to be met before any competitors were eligible for selection as the overall winner. First, the competitor needed to have sailed all three race days. Second, they needed to win their fleet.

The title was not an easy one for Fraser and his crew to take, as competition cranked into full gear for the final racing day. Conditions were much stronger than Saturday’s racing, with white caps on the ocean courses and breezes ranging from 12-15 kts.

In Race 7 of the Far Roads venue, Bud shrimped a spinnaker kite while Blue Blazes and Velos both split head sails. Inside the bay, Creative broke a rudder, keeping them from finishing the last race of the day.

With fast sailing, sunny skies and plenty of action, this day was truly a testament to how exciting San Diego sailing can be.

The fleet winners are Victor Wild’s Bud (Class AA), Tim Fuller’s Resolute (Class A), Neil Fraser’s Mexican Divorce (Class B), Chuck Nichols’s CC Rider (J-120), Chick Pyle’s Kea (Ben 36.7), James Wert’s Twister (Class C), Rick Goebel’s Sanity (J-105), Tim Fuller & Vince Brun’s BL!SSS (J-70), Michael & Kathy Roach’s Poco Loco (Class D), Thomas Brott’s Electra (J-109) and Curt Johnson’s Avet (J-80).

Sixteen members of the PHRF San Diego Fleet racing in this weekend’s Yachting Cup also competed in the Ed Cotter PHRF Championship Perpetual. Their results from this weekend will contribute to the overall PHRF series. The class winners are Blue Blazes (Class 1), Justice (Class 2A), Geronimo (Class 2B), El Sueno (Class 3), Poco Loco (Class 4) and Cimarron (Class 5).

Event detailsComplete results

Report by event media. Photo by

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.