Congressional Cup: Solid breeze chases storm

Published on May 15th, 2015

Long Beach, CA (May 15, 2015) – It was worth the wait! Congressional Cup racing was postponed this morning as an unseasonable storm buffeted Southern California. But behind the tempest came clear skies and a steady breeze that climbed from 10 to 18 knots as several matches were smartly waged.

Earlier in the day, PRO Randy Smith had cancelled the second of the round robins, saying they were running out of time. Advancement would rely on their standings after solely the first round robin.

With the stakes high, the final three flights were fierce; and on the offensive, mistakes were made. Phil Robertson lost to Taylor Canfield; but shut the door on Przemeyslaw Tarnacki at their start, and went on to take that race.

Eric Monnin earned a double flag penalty in the start sequence of his match with Swinton (Monnin lost); while Dickson and Aschenbrenner were both OCS for their start (Dickson won). It was ‘no more Mr. Nice Guy.’

After a tense wait, the results of a tie-breaker were announced: including a surprising penalty against top-ranked Ian Williams that bounced him out of the top six.

Advancing directly into the quarterfinals are (in order) Taylor Canfield, Reuben Corbett, Phil Robertson, Joachim Aschenbrenner, Bjorn Hansen and Chris Steele. The remainder, Ian Williams, Keith Swinton, Scott Dickson, Przemysław Tarnacki, Eric Monnin and Dustin Durant, began the first of five flights to determine which two will make the quarterfinals.

The battle to stay alive in the 51st Congressional Cup continues tomorrow, Saturday May 16, directly off Long Beach Belmont Veterans Memorial Pier, a thrilling vantage point to watch world-class match racing, right under your nose.

Report by Event Media

Round Robin Standings
Canfield 9-2
Corbett 7-4
Robertson 7-4
Aschenbrenner 6-5
Hansen 6-5
Steele 6-5
Williams 6-5
Swinton 5-6
Monnin 5-6
Durant 4-7
Dickson 3-8
Tarnacki 2-9

Additional information: Congressional CupWorld Match Racing Tour

The Congressional Cup has been an innovator in the game of match racing since 1965, introducing on-the-water umpiring in the 1988 regatta. The event is renowned for its world-class hospitality and organization, utilizing the talents and energy of a unique volunteer force of more than 300 members of LBYC – one of the premier boating institutions in the United States since 1929. The club and associated Long Beach Sailing Foundation maintain a fleet of identical 37-foot Catalina sloops designed specifically for the event; which guarantees an even platform and exciting competition.

The winning skipper of the Congressional Cup is awarded the coveted Crimson Blazer, an honor bestowed to the top names in sailing over the years, including Ken Read, Gavin Brady, Dennis Conner, Ted Turner, Dean Barker, and more.

comment banner

Tags: , , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.